What better way to return to blogging from my beautiful, sunny Greek vacay than to post the very first meal we had in Athens. We’re talking about the real thing – from their motherland – SOUVLAKI.

Souvlaki is the ultimate Greek fast food. Tasty marinated grilled skewers of meat, fresh toasty pita bread, juicy salad of tomatoes and onions, sprinkling of paprika and creamy zingy tzatziki. What a delicious combination!

Thanasis is THE place to have your experience of souvlaki in Athens. Highly recommended by my greek colleague, we ventured into bustling Monastiraki and followed our noses to the ‘souvlaki street’. Vendors standing along the busy street ushering you in their restaurants all promising the best souvlaki. Good thing we had ‘inside’ intel and headed to the real Thanasis. (There were a number of thanasis wannabes)…

My. Oh. My.

Unlike the thinner breads served in my favourite souvlaki shop in Melbourne, Stalactites, the souvlaki is served with thicker, fluffier pitas lightly toasted on a hotplate. The grilled meats are totally more-ish. Whether it’s juicy chunks of pork or minced lamb kebabs – the marriage of spiced meat and chewy pita is just perfect.

And they have the most unbelievable tomatoes…red, juicy and super sweet. We went back to Thanasis on the second day and had more souvlaki. This time, we had the roll up versions accompanied by a bowl of the yummiest cucumber and tomato salad and a plate of crispy chips. Major love!

And this was just the beginning…oh, and not to forget…our first of many Mythos…

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Travelling Tummy