International Incident Hotdog Party: Toad-in-the-Hole

What do you get with a bunch of sausages and Yorkshire Pudding batter?

A Toad in the Hole. I know, stranger names have been given to dishes, but I think this is a funny one. Some say the name was derived as far back as the middle of 19th century and the name was given because the sausage sticking out of the batter resembles a toad’s head. No matter how much I try to squint and picture the dish…I don’t see a toad. Not even a tadpole. It’s a good thing though, cos I really want sausages. Not any amphibian of the ribbity kind.

I like hotdogs. In a soft roll, topped with onions, mustard, relish and ketchup.

I like bratwursts. Served with a tangy side of sauerkraut.

I like toad-in-a-holes. Sitting amidst puffy Yorkshire pudding.

At the end of the day, they are all sausages but presented in different forms and given different names. I like ‘em all.

I’ve decided to take part in this month’s International Incident Party and the theme is Hotdogs! Started by fellow food blogger Penny from Jeroxie, this virtual party is a collaboration of food bloggers showcasing their creations based on a common theme. It’s a great way to share ideas and gawk at more food photos and write-ups. Check out the details of International Incident Party, here.

International Incident hotdog Party

So, hotdog party people, I present you with a traditionally English, Toad-in-the-Hole. No toads were harmed during this process.

Using a Jamie Oliver recipe, I was nervously hoping that my Yorkshire pudding would not flop – literally! Yorkshire puddings are known to be rather temperamental. Delightfully, the pudding puffed up real high and in fact it got caught on the top oven shelf (yeah my old oven shelf is non-removable – lame!) but I managed to tug the extremely hot combination of baking tray and loaf tin to safety without spilling hot oil all over myself – with the pudding still proudly puffed up. Phew!

Crisp Yorkshire pudding, succulent pork and leek sausages, aromatic rosemary. Usually served with mash, vegetables and brown onion gravy, I chose to serve mine with a light side salad (less guilt!) and Jamie’s red onion and balsamic gravy. Yee-ha!

TOAD IN THE HOLE
Adapted from Jamie Oliver’s Happy Days with the Naked Chef

  • sunflower oil
  • 6 large good-quality sausages
  • 3 sprigs of fresh rosemary
  • 2 large red onions, peeled and sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and finely sliced
  • 2 knobs of butter
  • 6 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1 level tablespoon good-quality vegetable stock powder or 1 vegetable stock cube

for the batter

  • 285ml milk
  • 115g plain flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 3 eggs

Mix the batter ingredients together, and put to one side. I like the batter to go huge so the key thing is to have an appropriately-sized baking tin – the thinner the better – as we need to get the oil smoking hot.

Put 1cm/just under ½ inch of sunflower oil into a baking tin, then place this on the middle shelf of your oven at its highest setting (240–250ºC/475ºF/gas 9). Place a larger tray underneath it to catch any oil that overflows from the tin while cooking. When the oil is very hot, add your sausages. Keep your eye on them and allow them to colour until lightly golden.

At this point, take the tin out of the oven, being very careful, and pour your batter over the sausages. Throw a couple of sprigs of rosemary into the batter. It will bubble and possibly even spit a little, so carefully put the tin back in the oven, and close the door. Don’t open it for at least 20 minutes, as Yorkshire puddings can be a bit temperamental when rising. Remove from the oven when golden and crisp.

For the onion gravy, simply fry off your onions and garlic in the butter on a medium heat for about 5 minutes until they go sweet and translucent. You could add a little thyme or rosemary if you like. Add the balsamic vinegar and allow it to cook down by half. At this point, I do cheat a little and add a stock cube or powder. You can get some good ones in the supermarkets now that aren’t full of rubbish. Sprinkle this in and add a little water. Allow to simmer and you’ll have a really tasty onion gravy.

Check out the rest of the International Incident Party peeps here!

18 responses

  1. I’ve never had this – but it looks like such great comfort food!

    January 16, 2011 at 2:22 AM

  2. OooOoo… Toad in the Hole!! What an interesting name! Looks so good.. I still have yet to eat any form of yorkshire puddings (I Know!)… your toad should come meet my Bunny recipe :)

    January 16, 2011 at 3:58 AM

  3. CK

    This looks delicious. Very wintery warming, very tasty interpretation. Yum.

    January 16, 2011 at 6:11 AM

  4. I love toad in a hole. I love the look of yr yorkshire batter. The outside darker bits and lovely, lighter and fluffy on the inside.

    January 16, 2011 at 9:58 AM

  5. Good thinking. Your yorkshire pudding looks so so good. I just want to sink my teeth into it.

    January 16, 2011 at 12:16 PM

  6. I love that you serve this with a light salad to make up for all the heaviness! Funny. I have heard of this dish but never had it – I don’t see a toad either, but it looks delicious.

    January 16, 2011 at 2:15 PM

  7. Oh my goodness..this is absolutely gorgeous. I want to dig right in! I’m adding this to my must-try list!

    January 16, 2011 at 4:28 PM

  8. Love the name and the sinful recipe.

    January 16, 2011 at 5:42 PM

  9. Oooh I love a good Yorkshire pudding and this looks like a GREAT one! Fab interpretation of this month’s party!

    January 16, 2011 at 6:59 PM

  10. oh my, that is an amazing looking pan of yumminess.
    Did you make your sausages….could you post the recipe if you did.

    January 16, 2011 at 9:35 PM

    • Thanks for checking in! I didn’t make the sausages but I always have some great ones in my freezer for my sausage cravings. I used pork and leek ones for this.

      January 16, 2011 at 9:50 PM

  11. jn

    I don’t remember my mother precooking the sausages before adding the batter – but it makes total sense if you like them well-browned like I do. What size pan did you use, and where do you buy your sausages? I’m thinking I’ll have to try this for old times’ sake.

    January 16, 2011 at 11:27 PM

    • I used a standard loaf tin but I would recommend something slightly shallower so you don’t risk over browned tops and soggy bottoms :) I had to reduce the temp of my oven and left toady in for a while longer to ensure the pudding is cooked through.

      January 17, 2011 at 8:38 AM

  12. hi! thanks for de lurking on my blog! your toad in the hole looks freaking delish!

    January 17, 2011 at 12:58 AM

  13. Though no toads were harmed in the making of this dish, I could do some real damage to the helpless sausages and pudding! This looks amazing – the toasty, golden brown of perfectly baked food. 8-)

    January 17, 2011 at 4:35 AM

  14. How much awesomeness can you pack into one recipe? Apparently a lot! This recipe looks fabulous. Beautiful pictures as well :)

    January 18, 2011 at 11:18 PM

  15. I haven’t tried toad in the hole yet, but it looks utterly fabulous!! Beautiful photos, now I’m hankering for some!

    January 25, 2011 at 12:43 AM

  16. Looks fantastic – I love Toad in the Hole – both the dish and the name! Really glad your Yorkshire pudding was such a success!

    January 29, 2011 at 10:50 AM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers