Best chicken wing dressing ever!!

I’ve only ever marinated chicken wings before cooking, never tried ‘dressing’ them after. And this has opened my eyes to what is the most awesomely delicious chicken wing recipe. Voted ‘hottest’ food celebrity, Jaden Hair had this on her website…and I thought it sounded delightful. Now I must get my hands on that Momofuku cookbook (by David Chang and Peter Meehan).

How I wish I had visited one of the Momofuku eateries while I was in New York City. Darn!

I followed Jaden’s healthier option of baking the wings rather than deep frying. The wings were succulent (make sure you do not over-bake them or they’ll be dry as twigs) and while it was hot from the oven, I tossed them through the prepared vinaigrette. Voila! All done – easy peasy.

I served the wings as a main (both hubby and I devoured half a kilo of wings!) with an asian-style salad of grated carrot, cucumber, apple, coriander and peanuts. Yum!

Update: I was at a friend’s Superbowl 2011 party while in Miami and this was my contribution to the feast. Loved it!

OCTOWINGS – I gave this name to the dish…the actual dressing is called Octo Vinaigrette
Adapted from Steamy Kitchen

500g chicken wings, tips saved for another use
1 tablespoon finely chopped garlic
1 tablespoon chopped peeled fresh ginger
1 finely chopped fresh chili pepper (I used a medium size birds eye chilli)
50ml rice wine vinegar
50ml light soy sauce
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/4 teaspoon Asian sesame oil
3/4 tablespoon sugar
freshly ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 200C. Line a baking pan with parchment paper. Place the chicken wings on the parchment paper in single layer. Bake for 20-25 minutes, turning the chicken wings over halfway during cooking process. I finished it off by switching the oven to grill for the last few minutes, to get a bit more colour on the wings.

2. While chicken is baking, make the vinaigrette. Combine together the remaining ingredients in a large bowl (large enough to fit all of the wings)

3. Toss the chicken wings in the vinaigrette to coat.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. […] for the easy way to game day? Give Drool Factor’s Octowings with Momofuku’s Octo Vanaigrette that are baked instead of hitting the steaming hot tub of oil and then ‘dressed’ in a rice wine […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Chicken, Recipes