Warm Spiced Lamb Salad

It’s really difficult to cut down on carbs. I should know, I struggle with it everyday! Planning for our weekly meals is always a challenge for I always try to have days without carbs. It’s easy to just have a stir-fry with rice, or a quick pasta dish, perhaps a tasty pie or a roast with baked potatoes. However it’s tricky when I have to make sure my hungry hubby is full and satisfied when I plan for non-carb meals.

This particular warm salad was quite the winner for me. No carbs were involved in this gig.

I found a good deal on lamb neck fillets at the store. Never cooked lamb neck fillets before but I found the fillets to be surprisingly tender and lean and they were not as expensive as lamb chops or loin.

On a sheet of parchment paper, I sprinkled thyme, cumin, cinnamon, paprika, salt and pepper (no particular amounts here, just use your discretion) and then rolled and coated each fillet with the spice combination. This method is also known as a dry rub which is generally like a marinade but without the liquids. Very easy and very effective especially when you’re grilling or pan-frying the meat.

Now, the salad. I find the best way to toss a salad is to do it with my fingers (Jamie Oliver styleee) in a large serving bowl like the one here. (Thanks Alsops for my beautiful serving bowl!) I drizzled a good amount of olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt and pepper. Just follow the rules of one part acid to two parts oil. Simple right?

Once the lamb is cooked, lay it aside to rest for a few minutes while you put the salad together. No rules here – add any crunchy, fresh salad leaves and veggies. I had a large pack of pre-washed crunchy salad leaves (straight off the supermarket shelf), a generous sprinkle of pomegranate seeds and sliced up some radishes and juicy tomatoes. Throw it all in the dressing and toss right before serving. Add the now ultra juicy, rested sliced lamb fillets and dinner is served!

I love simple meals and it’s carb-free and yummy. Yay me!

7 responses

  1. Looks really good! I’m trying out no carbs evenings so hopefully can give this a go soon. Thanks for sharing.

    March 16, 2011 at 7:18 PM

  2. Sharon

    Ooo I love this recipe!! Will have to try it when we get back! Love LAMB!! :) Bowl comes up well!! :)

    March 16, 2011 at 10:49 PM

  3. I just tried lamb a few weeks ago, and now I’m obsessed! That salad looks amazing.

    March 17, 2011 at 3:20 PM

  4. This looks terrific. I’m always looking for new ways to prepare lamb.

    March 17, 2011 at 7:45 PM

  5. Adina

    thank u Jamie… now im kinda ready with the cooking for Christmas..

    November 25, 2012 at 8:27 PM

  6. Elize de Wet

    Just want to say. You have an impressive sight. Love the way you put everything together. Feels very welcome to visit youre amazing recipes.

    February 14, 2014 at 6:14 PM

    • Thank you. Hope you enjoy trying out the recipes too!

      February 14, 2014 at 11:36 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 263 other followers