Chinese BBQ Roast Pork – Wok Style

charsiu3

In my x years of cooking, I’ve only known one way of cooking chinese bbq roast pork (char siu) – and as the name implies, I would roast it in my oven.  The result is often a very tasty but slightly dry char siu. However a very good man known as The Food Canon shared his family recipe for a wok-cooked char siu. There were warnings of a nightmarishly difficult to clean wok after but it wasn’t going to deter me. I did think that if I ruined my wok, I’d just have a get a new one. I needed to try this method out no matter what. Needed, not wanted, needed!

Essentially, this is a twice-cooked roast pork. Braised first in its marinade, then quickly crisped up and charred under a hot grill. Can anyone say yum?

charsiu1

The result was most wonderful – super moist, sticky, caramelly roast pork and with a little modification to the braising sauce (I ran really low on it), I also came up with a great cheat’s drizzling sauce. Served with a plate of freshly steamed jasmine rice and a side of garlic chinese broccolli, this was one gold-class comfort meal.

charsiu2

charsiu4

I used pork belly this time, which even the hubs (gasp!) found to be too fatty. I’d recommend using a good strip of pork loin instead. Something I’ll try again soon. But you know what they say, fat is flavour, and this pork is so fattily flavourful!

Oh, and my wok wasn’t ruined at all. Hot water and dishwashing liquid did the job just fine. Happy days!

CHINESE BBQ ROAST PORK – WOK STYLE
Adapted from The Food Canon

Ingredients:

1kg pork belly strips
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp dark soy sauce
1 tsp white pepper
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tbsp chinese cooking wine
1 cup water
2 tbsp vegetable oil

Method:

1. Marinade pork strips with all of the ingredients except water and oil for at least 2 hours or overnight.

2. To a heated wok, add the oil, then add pork belly strips in one layer. Seal the pork for about a minute, then add all the marinade and water and simmer for about 20 to 30 minutes or until the pork is tender. Remove pork strips from the wok and lay it out on a baking tray in a single layer.

3. Place tray under the grill and char the pork for about a minute on each side.

4. If the braising liquid has reduced too much and there isn’t enough to make up a sauce, add another cup of water to braising liquid, add a couple tablespoons of hoisin sauce, stir and simmer till thickened and voila! – you have sauce.

5. Slice the pork up, drizzle with sauce and enjoy!

4 responses

  1. yum! yes should try at least once… now i had better have a new wok standing-by cos hubby hates to cook without wok! ;)

    June 3, 2013 at 6:37 AM

    • Haha nothing happened to my wok though but agree, better be safe and have a spare one on the side!

      June 3, 2013 at 8:12 AM

      • The problem is we can’t find a wok here which he likes …. hahhaaa… may have to carry one back from SG!

        June 3, 2013 at 8:21 PM

  2. OMW! now this is the kind of food I would happily clog up my arteries for! Delicious! Thanks fr posting!

    July 2, 2013 at 5:38 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 264 other followers