Yesterday was Singapore’s 44th birthday. When I was living in Melbourne, my Singapore friends and I would clad ourselves in red and celebrate National Day by feasting on food that we miss from home. In other words, we’d head to the nearest Singapore café to delight ourselves in some laksa, fish head mee hoon, rojak, fried hokkien prawn mee etc. Or seeing that it’s still wintry cold in August, we would also have steamboat in one of our homes. Man…those were the days.

Now in London, it’s humid summer time and steamboat is out of the question. I had a mooli (white radish) sitting in my fridge, all limp and close to disgusting. But that unappetizing sight actually gave me an idea. I could make carrot cake! It does mean I have to get a new firm, fresh mooli, a grater and loads of other ingredients.

P too was filled with enthusiasm for my carrot cake quest (why wouldn’t he?) and so we headed to Harrod’s after church to seek out a new grater for me. I know, getting a grater from Harrod’s? Well, firstly Harrod’s is the closest department store to church and secondly, we didn’t think it through. But I did score a pretty, ‘soft-touch’ grater for about eight quid. :) (Please don’t convert that to Aust or Sing dollars…I might puke.)

Anyway, homemade carrot cake is quite a bit of work. First I had to make the ‘cake’ before I can progress to the hawker style dish full of garlicky, eggy goodness.

I got the carrot cake recipe from kuali.com. Go to the site for details if you want to try it out.

1. First some mooli shredding with my new grater

1. First some mooli shredding with my new grater

2. Cooking of mooli with dried shrimp and Chinese sausage

2. Cooking of mooli with dried shrimp and Chinese sausage

3. Mixing in the batter

3. Mixing in the batter

4. Getting the ‘kueh’ ready for some steaming action

4. Getting the ‘kueh’ ready for some steaming action

After 40 mins of steaming and the cake has cooled, I diced it up and fried it with some garlic, preserved turnip (chai por) and lots of beaten eggs. Seasoned with light and dark soy sauce, chilli sauce and a bit of kecap manis.

And I sing…“Count on me Singapore, count on me to give my best and more…”

P rubs his belly and nods…

Chye tow kueh - should have added some spring onions for colour!

Chye tow kueh - should have added some spring onions for colour!

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. It looks so yummy! You are so inspiring. BTW, did I say I love your blog page? ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Comfort Food, Home attempts, Recipes, Veggies & Salads

Tags