October 18, 2009

Spiked burgers

Do you remember Chef Spike from Top Chef? I don’t. Mainly because I didn’t follow the television reality series. I do however, remember with much fondness my visit to the Good Stuff Eatery when I was in Capitol Hill, Washington D.C. This family-run burger joint was a vision of Chef Spike, and together with his mum and the rest of his family, they started this ever popular burger restaurant.

Chef Spike - photo from the good stuff eatery website

Chef Spike - photo from the good stuff eatery website

The restaurant boasts handcrafted burgers, hand-cut fries, handspun ice-cream and shakes. It’s become quite an institution in D.C. and I am really glad I was there to experience it all. The buzz of the restaurant matches the quality of the food they produce. It’s hip, fresh and very happening. As you head up the stairs to the small dine-in area, you’re greeted with ‘goodness gracious’ on the wall. The menu is equally young and jazzy – with names of burgers that bring a smile to your face. It’s a tough decision with all the delicious sounding burgers like ‘Spike’s 5 napkin’, ‘Blazin’ Barn’ and ‘Good Stuff Melt’ – just to name a few.

'Goodness Gracious!'

'Goodness Gracious!'

Fresh baked, buttery Pennsylvania Dutch buns are filled with juicy organic beef patties, ruby red tomatoes and topped with good stuff like drippingly yummy chilli, or smokey bacon. Forget about the diet, you just have to tuck in and enjoy. Their hand-cut fries are served in a large brown paper bag and it’s hot, crispy and delicious.

Crispeeeeey!

Crispeeeeey!

For those who are not keen on all that meat, they have an aptly named vegetarian option called ‘Vegetarian are people too ‘shroom burger’. The burger comes with a whole, fat and juicy portobello mushroom top in a panko crumb crust, topped with muenster and cheddar cheese and their ‘good stuff sauce’. A definite winner – even for meat loving peeps like me.

Shroomilicious

Shroomilicious

So when you’re next on Capitol Hill in Washington D.C. and fancy a burger – you know where to go. It’s spiked. It’s good.

Good Stuff Eatery
303 Pennsylvania Ave S.E.
Washington, D.C. 20003

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Travelling Tummy

Tags