December 22, 2009

Golden treat

My hubby came home the other day with an ‘i’ve-got-something-up-my-sleeve’ look. In fact he came home with that AND a very sneaky tin of golden syrup, which he conveniently pointed my attention to. Right off the bat, I knew what the man really wanted. Golden syrup dumplings. The outright ‘hint’ is an indication of how much he absolutely LOVES this sweet treat. It’s an Australian dessert, but I know of many Aussies who have not had the pleasure of tasting these goodies…

To keep its authenticity, I got my recipe from an Australian food and recipe website. Like any other dumplings of its kind, there’s flour, butter and milk involved. It’s a very easy recipe and one can hardly go wrong with it. The dumplings are made using the rubbing in method with the flour and butter, then mixed with milk to form a gooey dough.

Nuggets of golden goodness simmering away

The key to this treat is in the syrup. Sugar, golden syrup, lemon juice, butter and water are simmered till it’s rich, sticky and golden. The fluffy pillows of cake-like dumpling is bathed in the golden syrup and it makes for a very quick yet satisfyingly rich dessert. It would be better if I had served it with a dollop of freshly whipped cream, but you know – when you’re sprung with a last minute tin of golden syrup, you make do.

The finished product

The cake-y insides of the golden pillows

Yes, I had those three little dumplings…and guess who got the rest of the lot? :)

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Stuff

Tags