January 29, 2010

Miso Vege Soup

What happens when you fail to plan out your week properly before hitting the buy button on your online grocery website? You end up with a whole bunch of stuff you do not need, do not wish to eat, do not have time to cook with…a whole bunch of ‘do nots’. Yup, that’s me.

I was over enthusiastic with my vegetable order this week, and forgot all about the fact that I have two dinner plans and a whole weekend away! Desperately trying to save my vegies from a slow-decompose-in-the-crisper death, I decided to use them all up in one go last night. Well, at least I tried to.

Lately I’ve been in a soup craze (best thing to have on a cold winter’s day right?) so I thought I’d make a pot of vegetable miso soup. Simple, healthy and quick. I used a head of sweetheart cabbage, a bag of stringbeans, a couple of carrots, three leeks, water and red miso paste.

Cooking up the vegies

Red miso - good ingredient to have in the fridge!

Soup, soup, soup!

I gave the chopped up vegies a quick heat through with some vegetable oil in my soup pot before I added water and mixed in three tablespoons of miso paste. Seasoned with some salt and flavoured soy and presto! We have soup.

I brought some soup to work for my lunch today, the soup was miso-tastic – unfortunately, the vegies were a tad too mushy for my liking, but I could add some firm tofu or noodles next time for a better texture. At least most of the vegetables are used up now. I just hope the aubergine, zucchini and tomatoes will live to fulfill their purpose. I’m sensing a ratatouille may be on its way.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Oh I could have made use of the Zucchini! Ones I bought from Waitrose were way too big and didn’t roast well. Came out all mushy and disgusting! Eww!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Veggies & Salads