February 10, 2010

Quick, quick cod

Many people I know find cooking a chore, especially after a long day at work. Once in a while, I feel the same way too. But for 80% of the time, cooking is therapy for me. I get to stop thinking about work or anything unpleasant or stressful and simply focus on producing a good plate of food to satisfy our raging appetites. I say ‘raging’ because sometimes I do take a little more time than usual to dish up dinner.

So I really love quick recipes. One pot, chuck in the oven and ‘voila’ type of meals. The less washing, the better. You get the idea.

This recipe of pan roasted cod was nicked from one of the earlier JO cookbooks. It took me all of 20 mins to prepare. Ten minutes to get things together and ten minutes in the oven.

All you need: fillets of cod, parsley, de-seeded fresh chilli, asparagus and baby tomatoes. Only one pan was harmed in the process and if I had been ultra lazy, I could have eaten straight out of the pan to save washing an extra plate, but civility won.

All in one pan

Just four main ingredients...

The fish was only in the oven 10 mins. It was cooked perfectly – succulent and sweet. (I tend to either over or under cook my fish, but not this time!) The asparagus was cooked through but still had a good bite and the baby tomatoes were split and ready to burst with its own juices.

As usual I didn’t follow the recipe to a T and having very little fish cooking experience, the dish still turned out to be a success. I have to say – this one’s a keeper. Thanks JO!

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. You’re welcome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags

,