February 15, 2010

Lemongrass Chicken

I had a stick of lemongrass sitting in my freezer for ages. Until last week…I finally found a recipe I liked and looked fuss-free enough. To make it better, I was prepared (for once) and thawed out my chicken in advance for some overnight marinating action.

The recipe was easy to follow and most of the work was done the night before. I think this would be a great recipe for BBQs too, in fact, it’d probably be better with all the charred bits from the grill. However, it’s the middle of winter, and I don’t have an outdoor grill – so it’s the good, old fan forced oven this time.

Yummy chicken, meh sauce

The recipe called for a tangy sweet and sour side sauce to go with the cooked chicken, however if I had honey or palm sugar added in the marinade, it may have worked without the sauce, plus the caramelisation would have given me my charred bits. See, I can’t help myself – always trying to alter recipes so I do not have to do too much. Maybe I should just come up with my own cookbook entitled ‘The Lazy-Ass Cookbook’. (I just googled to see if there was indeed one in existence and there isn’t! Haha. May not be a good marketing strategy to put the word ‘ass’ in the title of a cookbook.)

I’m not a big fan of the sauce recipe. It was sweet and sour (duh!) but other than that, it did not do much to enhance the already flavourful chicken.

Thanks to overnight marinating. The chicken was full-flavoured – a wonderful blend of lemongrass, garlic, ginger and coriander. Grilled slowly in the oven, the chicken was tender, the skin was slightly crispy and it was indeed a delicious end for the single stalk of leftover lemongrass.

Crispy skin bits and all...

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Can I please put in an order for one ‘The Lazy-Ass Cookbook’ please? Mates rates yeah? Thanks! he he….

    Chicken looks good!!! Hope it was nice!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Chicken, Home attempts

Tags