My big bowl of red

Growing up in Southeast Asia, chilli simply meant chilli peppers. So as kid, when I read books where people were eating a hot bowl of chilli, I used to think they were crazy! It was only when I was in high school did I find out what eating a bowl of chilli really referred to.

According to an old South-western American Indian legend, the first documented recipe for chilli con carne came from a beautiful Spanish nun – Sister Mary of Agreda. However, according to Spanish missionaries, Sister Mary never left Spain! So, in fact, no one really knows how this dish originated but it is a dish most embraced by Texans. In fact, the 36th President of the United States, Lyndon B. Johnson claims this: “Chilli concocted outside of Texas is usually a weak, apologetic imitation of the real thing. One of the first things I do when I get home to Texas is to have a bowl of red. There is simply nothing better.”

Some people are big fans of chilli huh? To me, it’s a good, hearty stew of meat and beans. Very comforting on a cold day but it’s something I would only make once in a while, and probably only in winter.

I tried my hand at making chilli the other day. It’s a simple task of browning the mince and onions and chucking everything else in the slow cooker. I used (and modified) this recipe that is written specifically for a slow cooker.

Result: I loved it. It was rich with the chunkiness of the cooked beans and sweetness from the tomatoes. It could have done with a bigger spice kick though – more cumin and chilli powder next time! Instead of sour cream, I topped the chilli with guacamole which gave a nice, creamy finish to the dish.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Beef, Home attempts, Recipes

Tags