March 26, 2010

Tangy trout

Do you know the difference between trout and salmon? I, for one am baffled. I only know what I’m cooking, thanks to the label on the pack that tells me so. I have very little experience shopping from a proper fish market. On occasions when I do, I face the mountain of slick, shiny fishes and flip out. Okay, maybe not that dramatic, but I generally go for the safe option of only buying what I can identify – which really doesn’t amount to much.

I tried cooking trout fillets for the first time. Not an ounce of a difference to cooking salmon. Again, I don’t know the difference between the two. They look the same, they taste the same…oh wait, trout’s cheaper! Yay, I now know ONE difference between trout and salmon.

Anyway, I thought if I had trout and lemon and some herbs and if I put them together I should get a pretty decent meal, right? So I put on my invention hat and got working. I started by mixing some butter, bread crumbs, lemon zest and juice, parsley, salt and pepper in a bowl. I heated a pan in the oven till it’s searing hot, lightly oiled my fish and gave a generous spread of the lemony mix on the skinless side and placed the fish skin side down on the hot pan. Baked it in the oven for 12 mins and there we have it, tangy trout – served with lightly grilled asparagus.

Tangy trout with asparagus

The trout was fork tender and the flavours were pretty well balanced – not overly tart (which I was afraid of as I was quite enthusiastic with my use of lemon) and the taste was clean and very refreshing. It could have done with a bit more texture – perhaps some toasted almond flakes could fit in well. It’s a quick, light summer meal that I will definitely try again.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags