My best roasted lamb leg ever...

Yeah I thought the combination was a little weird too. Glad I gave it a shot and it was one of the best lamb roast I’ve ever cooked. Very easy to prepare…I squeezed the juice of one lemon over the legs, pierced several holes into the fleshy areas, chopped up rosemary, garlic and anchovies and stuffed them into the holes, rubbed olive oil all over, seasoned with salt and pepper and that was it. Preparation done.

The key to roasting lamb is to make sure you don’t overcook the thing. According to Jamie Oliver (yeah, you can trust him), it takes 20 minutes per 450g plus an additional 20 mins at 200 deg celsius. Came out perfectly. The roast was cooked through but still juicy and tender. The salty anchovies melted into the lamb, giving it an added depth of flavour.

Juicy and tender

I used the juices from the roasting tray to make the gravy, simply adding water and flour – the juices and oils from the lamb was so flavourful I didn’t have to do anything else to it. Just 45 minutes before the lamb was done, I chucked some parsnips and butternut squash (tossed in olive oil, paprika, salt and pepper) into the the oven resulting in a very hearty and delish home roast.

The sidekicks

Slurp...

The leftovers from this meal made us some really amazing lamb souvlakis the next day – complete with store-bought tzatziki. It’s a meal that keeps on giving!

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Lamb, Recipes

Tags