I don’t normally make New Years’ resolutions and this year was no exception. However I did decide to get my fitness and health in order and swore off unhealthy snacks like potato chips (or crisps as the Brits would call them). Chips used to be my weakness. I could sit in front of the telly and finish a whole packet of Walkers Sweet Chilli or go through half a family pack of cheesy Doritos. Since I’ve stopped this indulgence of mine, I’ve missed crunching on crispy stuff. The crunch of healthy food is way less satisfying. Carrot sticks vs crispy fries? Not quite the same thing is it?

This craving to crunch was the inspiration behind this wonderful dish I made last week. I went through many, many recipes, watched many, many videos and picked up a few tips on creating the best oven baked crispy chicken.

Fresh from the oven...

The skin is removed from the chicken, and in its place is a sneaky replacement. A combination of seasoned cornflour, oats, cornflakes, mustard, milk and eggs – A faux crispy skin is born! Oven baked with minimal oil (only used for greasing the baking sheet), this healthy version is highly recommended for all who desire the crunch and flavour of deep fried chicken but would like to avoid the grease and its possible artery clogging effects.

  1. Remove skin from chicken portions (I used 8 pieces of thighs and drumsticks)
  2. Beat 2-3 eggs, add about ¼ cup milk, salt, pepper and 3-4 tsp Dijon mustard. Mix well.
  3. Marinate skinless chicken portions in the egg mix for at least 20 mins, the longer the better.
  4. Pre-heat oven to 190 deg celsius. Lightly grease baking sheet.
  5. Crush a cup of cornflakes until roughly fine, add 2 tbsp rolled oats and ¼ cup cornflour. Season lightly. Mix the dry ingredients.
  6. Coat the chicken well in the dry ingredients, make sure all the chicken is well coated (this has to resemble the chicken skin).
  7. Place on baking sheet and bake for 45 minutes or until juices run clear. Turn the chicken over half way through baking to ensure both sides are equally golden.

Crunch away!

Crispy chicken and salad...

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Chicken, Home attempts, Recipes

Tags

,