May 5, 2010

Banana Nut Cake

Finally found it! A banana cake recipe that I like.

I’ve had a few occasions where bananas have gone black and disgustingly ranky sitting on the kitchen table. Just the other day my colleague cracked up when I told him that bananas are the most attention-seeking fruits. They can be beautifully yellow one minute and the next, all bruised and black. If you leave them alone for a bit, they start to smell. Overripe bananas can be a real stinker, but they do make the best banana cakes.

I’ve tried my hand at making banana cakes, mostly going down the path of least resistance…or rather using the simplest, most pro-lazy fuss-free recipes I could find. They didn’t quite cut it though. They were either not banana-y enough or too dry for my liking.

However, I found a great basic banana cake base. There was a long list of good comments and suggestions on the page and I took that as a good sign that this recipe was a winner.

I used the basic banana cake recipe and added walnuts as well as cinnamon (as per some of the suggestion on the website).  The clincher I believe was an added tablespoon of espresso – I got this idea from a fellow blogger for her banana nut muffin recipe. There was an agreeable reaction between the banana mix and the coffee which resulted in the most tantalising aroma when the cake was baking.

This banana nut cake turned out to be my best attempt so far. Rich in banana flavour (definitely not ranky anymore), slightly denser than regular butter cake (which I favour), not overly sweet and the walnuts brought an added depth of flavour and texture. Great with a cup of tea or coffee…or even a bottle of chianti. I had guests over on Sunday and they loved the cake and chianti. Not quite the normal wine and cake combination, but it worked out. Success…at last!

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags