It’s no secret that I am a fan of Jamie Oliver’s cooking style. With the exception of ‘Jamie at Home’, I now own all of his cookbooks – thanks to my hubby for buying the last two additions to my collection. I may not follow recipes to the ‘T’, but in general his ideas and tips are very handy and I’m always awe-inspired watching him in action on TV. His latest series ‘Jamie Does…’ combines two of my faves – cooking /food and travelling. Latest episode on Venice is waiting for me in my set top box recorder. Looking forward to it!

This seemingly famous ‘Chicken in a Bagrecipe is from one of his early books (Happy Days with the Naked Chef) and has been tried and tested many times over. Not only is it a breeze to prepare – it’s delicious, rather healthy and there’s almost no cleaning up after the meal! You can find the recipe online as well.

Things to keep in mind when making this dish:

1. Make sure you score the chicken breasts for more even cooking (don’t want to have a salmonella breeding bag with uncooked chicken)

2. Don’t go overboard with the wine – I know it’s tempting, but save the wine for drinking with the meal, excessive pouring of wine in the bag will give you an overpowering alky flavour to the sauce, not nice

3. Have a mixture of mushrooms if possible. Gives the dish a fuller, earthier flavour. Not having the luxury of easy access to mixed wild mushrooms, I have used the typical supermarket regulars like closed cup, chestnuts or oyster mushies and they worked just as well

Once cooked, pop the foil bag on a plate, split the top of the bag open, breathe in the delicious aroma from the steam wafting out, pour yourself a good glass of the wine that’s leftover…and tuck in. Don’t forget your spoon as it comes in handy for sauce slurping, or have a freshly baked bread roll ready to mop up all the tastiness.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Chicken, Home attempts, Recipes

Tags

,