May 25, 2010

Butter logs

There’s really no hard and fast rule about mushing your favourite herbs and seasonings with butter and rolling it into a log is there? The combination of flavours are endless and it’s actually quite a lot of fun getting all greasy-fingered and seeing what comes out of the combination. I find more use out of the savoury options which can be used in almost anything that requires butter and even in those that doesn’t call for it – fat is flavour, so flavoured fat is even better right? Heh.

The first log I made had fresh basil leaves, garlic and salted butter. I thought this combination would be good for stuff like pasta, steaks and maybe even fish. The second log had anchovies, garlic, black pepper and unsalted butter. I love the salty anchovies and how they melt and create an added depth of taste in the food. This one I can probably use for vegetables and sauces. Imagine tossing some of it when roasting veggies. Mmm…

I could not wait to use my butter logs, so I went and made a nice juicy steak to go with my basil butter. What a great excuse.

Sirloin steak with basil butter, crispy baked kale and steamed corn.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Wah! Major lau nua!!!

    Reply
  2. […] I know are not fond of these little flavour-packed fish but I love them! They are really great blended with butter and adds instant flavour to pasta, vegetables […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Just Thoughts