Brazilians have been cooking Moqueca (pronounced as Moh-keeh-ka) for 300 years now. The first time I came across this traditional Northern Brazil fish stew recipe, I knew I had to give it a try.  When I went through the list of ingredients, it sounded very much like a curry and I was intrigued. Coconut milk, and traditional palm oil are the signature ingredients  – but who on earth has palm oil handy in their kitchens nowadays?

I used cod and fresh prawns and for once, I followed the recipe closely. Well…almost. I went to Chilango’s (a burrito joint near work) for lunch and brought home some extra hot sauce to add to the dish. I read several other recipes and they all included hot sauce. I love Cholula hot sauce and I can just imagine the added kick to the dish.

There was heat (from the chilli flakes – I added more than a pinch – and also from my dear friend Cholula), there was tartness (from Cholula again, as well as generous splashes of lemon juice), there was a light creamy sweetness from the coconut milk and it was altogether one of the most beautiful and successful fish stews I have ever tried cooking. There were many spices and ingredients in this dish and you would think it would overpower the delicate flavours of the fish and prawns but I assure you, it didn’t. I served it steaming hot with brown rice, and there was not a drop of the stew leftover…

And no, it was absolutely nothing like a curry.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. […] digging Brazilian food. The first brazilian dish I ever attempted with much success was Moqueca – brazilian fish stew and I think it’s due another round […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags