When it comes to life-saving products, Prima Taste is one of them. It’s been fabulous living overseas (first Australia and now in the UK), but one of the major drawbacks is the constant craving for comfort food from my homeland – Singapore. Satay, kuay chup, char kuay teow, lor mee – just to name a few. I do admit that I am very fortunate to be living in metropolitan cities brimming with restaurants from all over the world, so I am not short of Singapore/Malaysia restaurants to go to satiate my cravings. However, I cannot afford to be eating out all the time, and somehow the satisfaction of creating homemade comfort food sometimes does beat having to fork out good money for someone else to do it. Key word being ‘sometimes’ though…

Ever since the clever people at Prima Taste started creating comfort food in a box for us overseas droolers…life has been vastly improved.  These boxes of pastes, liquids and powders have brought our much-loved hawker dishes into our very own kitchens. I have tried quite a few of them now (there’s a limited supply of them in the UK, so I get what I can with the more exotic ones courtesy of visiting friends from home) – Curry Laksa, Hainanese Chicken Rice, Mee Siam, Beef Rendang, Satay, Sayur Lodeh, Char Kuay Teow, Chilli Crab and Fried Hokkien Prawn Mee.

It’s so convenient and by going through the easy-to-follow instructions on the pack, an extremely decent version of our hawker favourites may just appear right before you. My all-time favourite Prima Taste pack has got to be the Curry Laksa. Two steaming hot bowls of spicy, coconut based noodle soup in a jiffy! The creamy coconut soup is very authentic, and the extra sachet of sambal chilli gives the soup that much needed kick. Slurp!

I love Prima Taste. The only gripe I have with them is that they have removed the sachets of laksa leaves from the curry laksa pack. They claim that the leaves have been incorporated in the paste. I want those leaves! I love those leaves! Ah well…I guess beggars really can’t be choosers. I have my laksa, and I’m happy.

OMG…I just saw on the Prima Taste website that they now have ‘Lor Mee’ and ‘Bak Chor Mee!!! I want!!!!

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Comfort Food, Home attempts, Rice, Noodles, Pasta