You would think that I’ll be totally over dumplings by now. Nope…not even close. I’ve found a renewed love for these wonderful parcels of goodness recently. Dim sum versions such as har gow, Japanese style pan-fried gyozas, steamed xiao-long-baos, Chinese wontons – I love them all.

With the exception of xiao-long-baos, the rest of the above-named dumplings are very easy to prepare at home. The skins are easy enough to make, but it is very time-consuming. Why bother when there are so many ready-made dumpling skins available at any good oriental grocery store.?

I got hold of a pack of wonton ‘pastry’ (that’s what it says on the packet!) from my local Chinese grocery shop and decided to make prawn dumpling soup (sui kow). These dumplings are big mama ones compared to the regular pork wontons. The general idea is the same, just much bigger in size…and with the addition of prawns of course.

My recipe makes about 40 – 50 dumplings (depending on how many pieces of dumpling skin is in a pack and how generous you are with the filling).

For the filling:

350g minced pork
200g prawns, cut into smaller pieces
3 cloves garlic, minced
4 stalks of spring onion (the white ends minced for the filling, the green parts for garnishing)
2 tbsp cornflour
Soy sauce and white pepper for seasoning

For the soup:

Chicken stock
A few slices of ginger
2 stalks of spring onion, left whole
Salt and white pepper for seasoning
Dash of sesame oil

Combine all of the filling ingredients, mix well. See how simple this is??

Use about a teaspoon and a half of filling per wrapper. Place filling in the middle of the skin, dab some water on the edges, fold one square corner of the wrapper to the opposite corner (to form a triangle) and seal those mamas up!

The soup’s even easier – boil everything (except the sesame oil) together. Toss in some vegetables towards the end. I used sliced up napa cabbage (wombok) but I would recommend Chinese mustard leaves (choy sum).

Cook the dumplings in a separate pot of boiling water. Once they’re floating, they’re done. Drain them and add to the boiling stock, simmer another minute or so. Serve with a garnish of spring onions – on its own, or with a side of egg noodles tossed in sesame oil, oyster, chilli and soy sauce. Enjoy!

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. Oooh these look great!!

    Reply
  2. oh I have never had dumplings but you sound so convincing of their yummieness I will defiantly have to try these now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Comfort Food, Home attempts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags

, , ,