Fruit cobblers are popular home-style desserts in both the US as well as UK. However, there are many variants and I haven’t quite figured out the who, what, where and how’s of the different cobblers.

There are cobblers made with sheet pastry (but to me, that’s more like  a pie), others have cake or scone like batters. Some cobblers come with the cake bits at the bottom, others have it on top. Some prefer to have the fruit and batter mixed together. There are bread-like versions as well as crispy-topped ones. Baffling isn’t it?

I thought I’d try a French peach cobbler recipe which I found online and adapted as I had all the available ingredients and it was the least complicated. I have no idea why it’s ‘french’ but let’s just go with it.

With only two fresh peaches left, I improvised by using a big, fat juicy mango – which worked really well. When the cobbler made its grand exit from the oven, the juices and syrup were bubbling and oozing out of the few crevices of the cake top. The topping had a nice, golden crisp shell which covered a light, spongy yellow cake.

Served with store-bought pouring custard, this is a quick and easy one to serve at dinner parties or simply a ‘just because we have fruit’ dessert.

Peach and Mango Cobbler
Adapted from Nancy’s Kitchen

2 peaches
1 large mango
3/4 c. brown sugar
2 tbsp. flour
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 c. water
2 tsp. orange marmalade (optional)
Butter

Batter for Top
1/2 c. flour
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. butter, soft
1 egg

Peel and slice fresh peaches and mango. Combine with sugar, flour, cinnamon, salt, vanilla, and water. Turn into 9 x 13 dish. Dot with butter and marmalade. Mix batter for topping until smooth. Drop in 8 portions on the fruit evenly spaced (batter will spread during baking). Bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes. Serve warm with custard or vanilla ice cream.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Just made this…ohh myyy, soo good! I substitued lime juice for water and lime marmalade for the orange. Topped wit some crema…divine!!

    Reply
  2. Very good but ad a tsp of water to top mix and it’s perfect

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags