July 12, 2010

My first macaron

I have forgotten how much fun cooking classes can be. The last time I was in a class environment learning how to bake a Victoria sponge cake – I was 14. Okay so that was almost a whole lifetime ago. But I re-entered the classroom this weekend to learn how to make…MACARONS! It was for the fun of it – hubby had a boy’s weekend, and the school was in central London. I could probably figure out how to make macarons at home but having a cute chef teach me how to do it…all the better!

There were nine of us in the class kitchen, all swathed in plastic aprons and eagerly waiting for instructions. The pristine kitchen was soon covered in sugar and colourings and egg shells.

Conversations in the kitchen went like this “Chef, chef, my macaron has nipples!”, “Oh no, I’ve got coriander seeds on my macaron!” I know…coriander seeds?? There were many hilarious moments.

I suck at piping stuff. That much I know, but at least it was comforting to know I wasn’t the worst! We had loads of fun and laughter as we attempted to pipe our macaron shells and fillings. Loads of weird sizes, overflowing ganache, pokey peaks, over-airy batter. But heck, no matter how they turned out, they were all delicious! Needless to say, there were a lot of unsolicited taste tests along the way.

We made three types of macs – my fave was the Lime & Fresh Ginger Buttercream. Also on the menu were the Dark Chocolate Honey Ganache and the classic Salted Butter Caramel. All yum.

I can’t wait to try it out on my own at home. Fingers crossed it’d be just as yummy and look a whole heap better. More practice with the piping bag required!!

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. omg your macaroons look AWESOME! you must show a tutorial online okay! i will learn from you… the last time i attempted had no feet… they looked like cookies. FAIL. yours look really prettyyyy :)

    Reply
  2. Haha…yours had no feet, mine has a head! I don’t know which is worse. Funny! I’m definitely going to try again…stay tuned.

    Reply
  3. Great pictures! Always want to go and take a cooking class, you know be committed to one every week, just when I have the opportunity and available. We don’t have that option where I live, should start something.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Sweet Stuff