When it was ridiculously warm (by UK standards) last weekend, all I could think of was grilled cheese for dinner. Yup as in oozing, melty cheese in toasty bread. Mm mmm… but the heat was depressing and even though my tastebuds were screaming  for grilled cheese…my brain and hands decided to go for a cooler option – grilled halloumi salad. It helped that hubby was away – which meant there was no voice telling me to go the grilled cheese s’wich way.

It also meant that my time in front of the stove was reduced by A LOT and I would not be spending the rest of the night having cheese and carb sweats. Eew.

Halloumi is a traditional Cypriot cheese made with a mixture of sheep and goat’s milk. It has a very high melting point compared to other cheeses and so is fabulous for grilling. It is also salty and in warm weather, the Cypriots like to eat them with watermelon. I’ve got to try that one day…wished I had watermelon lying around in the house over the weekend. However, I did make a very refreshing salad with the grilled halloumi, herb salad leaves, cherry tomatoes and avocado, dressed only in olive oil and lemon juice – the cheese was salty enough to exclude any further seasoning.

Glad I went the salad route. In fact, I ate half of it and returned the bowl to the fridge for a ‘cool down’. Yeah, I don’t do so well in warm weather.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts

Tags