How ironic that just as I was ranting about the heat over the weekend on my last post, it’s turned to grey skies and rain this week. Our portable air-conditioner sits dormant in our bedroom and we’re back to preparing ‘cool weather’ food. I know, the joys of summer in London. Really, I’m not complaining – I kinda enjoy having sunny hot weeks broken with a refreshing cool one like this. Fingers-crossed we get sunshine again soon though because I’m not ready for summer to be over.

What better way to warm up the evening than with a curry. Haven’t had a curry for ages, so I thought I’d make a healthy version of Meatball and Spinach curry.

This version is healthier because in place of rich coconut milk, I used regular semi-skimmed milk. To make up for the lack of creaminess and flavour of the coconut milk, I used two types of curry paste – thai red curry paste as well as the Indian rogan josh. The Thai paste provided the earthy flavours of lemongrass, chilli, ginger and cumin while the rogan josh gave sweet flavours of tomatoes and paprika. There’s no rule that you cannot mix curry pastes and I find that if you are not cooking a type-specific curry such as a thai red curry or a jalfrezi, sometimes mixing flavours give really good results.

(Slightly Healthier) Meatball and Spinach Curry

500g minced pork (seasoned with ½ tsp each of stock powder, cumin, coriander, ginger, turmeric, sugar, 1 tsp of cornflour and 2 tsp of light soy)
450g baby spinach leaves
1 large yellow onion, diced
1 tbsp thai red curry paste (I use Mae Ploy)
1 tbsp rogan josh paste (I use Patak’s)
2 cups of semi-skimmed milk (or less if you prefer a punchier sauce)

Form seasoned minced pork into small balls just slightly smaller than a ping pong ball. Brown the meatballs, remove from wok/pot and set aside on kitchen towels (to soak up the turmeric-stained oil). In the same wok, pop in the onions and cook till slightly soft (but not browned), add in curry pastes and fry till fragrant and oil is released from the pastes. Add in the meatballs, mix to coat them in the pastes, then add in the milk. Let the liquid come to a boil, add spinach leaves. Season to taste and once all the leaves are wilted – it’s ready to serve.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Curry is such a good comfort food for me, thanks for the recipe, look forward to trying it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Comfort Food, Home attempts, Pork, Recipes, Veggies & Salads

Tags

,