July 19, 2010

The Fat Badger

I came across The Fat Badger gastropub on one of my online food surfs. Yup, I do just surf the net for food – is that a problem?? I’m sure there are others out there like me?? Right? Anyway, I finally got to check The Fat Badger out. It’s a little two storey pub on Portobello Road in London.

Unlike most grubby pubs which reek of stale beer, The Fat Badger is welcomingly airy, open and grungy in a good way. The dining room upstairs comprises of a mish mash of dark wood tables and chairs. Mostly scuffed and old but which added to the homely feel of the place. The bright pink patterned wallpaper stood out amongst the gilded mirror, dark furniture and white washed window panes.

In place of starters, we were more attracted to the five pub snack items on the menu and so ordered all five to share. Quails eggs with celery salt, honey mustard chipolatas, spicy sausage roll, scotch egg and a pint of prawns. Oh my – I’d say all of them were really good. Everything was fresh and tasty – from the slightly runny quail egg yolks to the homestyle meat mould of the scotch eggs and the sweet and smoky chipolatas. Mmmm…

For mains, we ordered the onglet steak with chips, grilled chicken salad with tzatziki and a whole grilled seabass. I had the seabass and it was delicious and lemony fresh and it came with new potatoes and chorizo with spinach which complemented the fish so well.

My friend had the grilled chicken and he was raving about how succulent and tasty it was. The onglet steak was a tad too chewy for our liking but we were duly warned by the owner who took our orders.

A pleasant surprise came at the end when we asked for the bill – a birthday brownie!! My friend A, had made the booking online and mentioned that it was his birthday…and the guys at the pub noticed and gave us a brownie on the house. Sweet…

Oh, before I forget, a visit to The Fat Badger isn’t quite complete until Wolfie stops by. Wolfie is the pub’s akita and he even has his own photo gallery on the website. I didn’t have a picture of Wolfie because every time he popped by our table, he was busy sniffing out a cute lil beagle at the next table, called Trigger. Trigger sought refuge with us whenever Wolfie came by, so he’s part of my gallery now. What a cutie.

Great food, good service, chilled out ambience and dog-friendly – that’s my kind of pub.

The Fat Badger
310 Portobello Road
London W10 5TA

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. Trigger is soooooooo cute!!!! Great photo of him!! We didn’t get such a good shot!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Dining Out