My friend was in a bit of a denial hitting mid-30s last weekend…so we had a “non-birthday” celebration and I made him a “non-birthday” cake. Actually it was a cranberry and pistachio brownie. For a period of time, he was totally addicted to pistachios. So when I saw this recipe, I thought it’d be perfect for the pistachio lover – and you can’t really go wrong with chocolate based baked goods can ya?

This is one of those minimal cleaning recipes. One pot to rule it all…plus the baking tray of course.

I used 70% organic cooking chocolate which gave the brownie a super-duper deep chocolatey kick. The dried cranberries were a pleasant addition as it gave the brownies some fruity sweetness. Except for the fact that I made a boo-boo (I accidentally used self raising flour instead of plain…and the brownie became more cake-like) the brownies were well-received.

Happy non-birthday my friend.

Cranberry & Pistachio Brownies
adapted from BBCGoodFood

  • 200g butter , diced, plus extra for greasing
  • 2 x 150g bars plain chocolate (I used 70% but original recipe said 40%)
  • 280g light muscovado sugar
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 4 medium eggs
  • 200g plain flour (Note to self: PLAIN!!!!)
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • 80g pack dried cranberries
  • 100g pistachios , sliced
  • icing sugar to dust, optional
  1. Heat the oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas 4. Butter a non-stick baking tin (about 31 x 17 x 3.5cm) or line the base if you prefer. Break the chocolate into a saucepan, add the butter, sugar and milk, then warm gently, stirring frequently until melted and evenly mixed. Allow to cool slightly, then beat in the eggs one at a time. Fold in the flour, cinnamon and cranberries.
  2. Spread half the mixture into the prepared tin, scatter over the nuts, then gently spread the rest of the mixture on top. Bake for 25-30 mins. Cut into squares while still warm. Will keep in an airtight container for up to a week.
Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,