I was supposed to have a healthy tofu dinner on Saturday night. Well, what can I say – that didn’t quite pan out. I was not in the mood for tofu, I was not in the mood to cook and I really felt like sinking my teeth into a big, juicy hunk of beef patty in between toasted sesame seed buns.

Started by three Kiwis in Battersea in 2001, the GBK chain has since sprouted all over the UK and very conveniently, there’s one within walking distance to my home.

Oh my, oh my, tough choices to make. The GBK menu consists of a 100% Aberdeen Angus beef section, a chicken section, a specialty section and a veggie section. I knew before I stepped in that I was going for the angus – so that made things a lot easier to begin with.

After much umm-ing and ahh-ing I ended up going for the Habanero burger – hot and spicy sauce, mozzarella, salad and mayo. I expected the habenero sauce to be more intense and with a more tangy, peppery flavour but it turned out to be more of a sweet and spicy chilli sauce. Still yummy though. The mozzarella only  made an appearance halfway through, but I didn’t care. I had one drippy, messy burger to contend with and I was happy.

Chunky GBK fries – I’m in carb heaven. Super thick cut fries, hot and crisp dipped into smoked chilli mayo. Need I say more?

Hubby picked out the Kiwi burger – a very typical burger from down under, and well in this case, from NZ. Beef patty, fried egg, cheese, beetroot and pineapple. It made for one handsome looking burger. I had a little yolk-envy looking at it…all that gooey egg yolk…mmmm…

What better way to wash down a ginormous burger with a humongous milk shake? The GBK shakes are sweet, thick and very big. I was glad I didn’t get one for myself (just sneaked a couple sips from the hubs), because by the time I finished my burger, I was ready to explode or have a snooze or more likely both. Either way, I was totally satisfied with my non-tofu dinner.

Yay to burger joints that are within decent walking distance to my lazy bum on the couch!

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Comfort Food, Dining Out

Tags

,