August 10, 2010

Lemon Drizzle Cake

My last grocery order included a bag of unwaxed organic lemons. After cooking a bunch of meals including fish, chicken, salads…there were still leftover lemons. I was tossing up between making a batch of lemon curd…or bake a lemon drizzle loaf. The cake won.

I used Tana Ramsay’s lemon drizzle cake recipe with some minor alterations. The recipe in itself was excellent – moist, lemon butter cake – in fact there’s probably a very good basic butter cake in amongst all that lemony goodness. I just wanted a bit more of that citrus power. Many comments on the webpage suggested using two lemons and I happily obeyed – with delicious results.

The only thing with the drizzle, I didn’t get the whole caked-up glaze that was shown on the website. Didn’t quite mind it. In fact, the drizzle made the cake super moist and lemony. Loving it lots, and I’m sure this will make a regular appearance in my baking repertoire.

INGREDIENTS

  • 225g unsalted butter, softened
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • finely grated zest 2 lemons
  • juice of ½ lemon
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste

DRIZZLE TOPPING

  • juice 2 lemons
  • 85g caster sugar

Heat oven to 180C/fan 160C/gas 4. Beat together the butter and sugar until pale and creamy, then add the eggs, one at a time, slowly mixing through. Sift in the flour, then add the lemon zest, juice and vanilla paste. Mix until well combined. Line a loaf tin with greaseproof paper, then spoon in the mixture and level the top with a spoon.

Bake for 45-50 mins until a thin skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean. While the cake is cooling in its tin, mix together the lemon juice and sugar to make the drizzle. Prick the warm cake all over with a skewer or fork, then pour over the drizzle. Leave in the tin until completely cool, then remove and serve.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

,