August 19, 2010

Fish tacos

Originated from Baja California in Mexico, these fish tacos are super popular in California. I’ve never been to the west coast of US, and my experience with fish tacos are limited to my incessant drooling over my food trawls on the internet. Well, I finally took control of that, and decided to bring fish tacos to my casa! Woot!

Numerous web pages later, I decided that I’m not going to follow any recipe and go with my own ‘killer’ instincts. With the exception of the fried fish, everything else was store bought anyway…so really, it’s not brain surgery.

I wanted the fried fish fillets to have a little kick to it, so I coated them in spiced cornflour before I shallow fried them. Turned out to be the best part of the tacos! They were very, very tasty and I wished I had loads more…

I used crisp taco shells and it turned out to be MESSY! I had to so some contortioning of my neck to get the right angle to crunch into those overflowing taco shells. Quite a challenge but they were so yummy, I’d happily contort…anytime. Actually, next time I might go for the soft flour tortillas instead…and save on those chiropractor bills. Kidding!!!! No chiropractors were involved in this experience.

This one’s definitely a keeper. Now to wait for my beloved hubby to take me on a Californian holiday so I can try the real thang! *hint hint* Love you babe!

Spiced fried fish fillets

2 haddock fillets skinned, deboned and cut into thick strips (cod would be good too)
3 tbsp of cornflour
¼ tsp of cayenne pepper
¼ tsp of paprika
¼ tsp of stock powder
Salt & pepper to season

Clean, dry and cut the fish into manageable taco-size strips.

Mix the cornflour and seasonings on a plate. Coat the fish strips with the spiced cornflour  lightly.

Heat a pan with vegetable oil, and fry both sides of fish strips. The fish cooks very quickly, so don’t wander away…once cooked and crispy…drain on kitchen towel.

These were soooo good...

Chunky Salsa

½ a cucumber, deseeded and cubed
Handful of cherry tomatoes, quartered
½ a red onion diced
Handful of parsley, chopped
1 avocado, diced
Splash of olive oil
Splash of white wine vinegar / lemon juice
Salt & pepper

To complete my fish tacos, I also added shredded lettuce, refried beans, hot pepper sauce and sour cream. Messy but totally delicious.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. First of all I want to say excellent blog!

    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted simply just trying to
    figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Appreciate it!

    Reply
    • Hey there. Thanks for visiting! I’m pretty sure many bloggers struggle with the same problem. Someone’s even coined the term as ‘Opening Line Paralysis’!! Haha. I do try and formulate in my head what I want to say for my next post before I even start up my computer which I find helps because that blank page on the computer is daunting and it mocks me!! I still find that it takes a few minutes to get the first sentence right. In fact, it usually takes a few tries before I’m happy with how I start the post. So don’t fret, we’re all in the same boat. I found a very useful article which I think may help. http://www.problogger.net/archives/2011/06/07/10-tips-for-opening-your-next-blog-post/#

      Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Seafood

Tags