I’ve just returned from a wonderful weekend in Paris…and my head is still somewhere in French gaga land. I’ve got photos to share, but it also means I have to sort through them and that takes just a little too much effort at this point. I’ll get there I’m sure…there’s a long weekend coming up, I’ll be recovered from post-holiday blues by then. Fingers crossed.

For now, I thought I’d share this simple, comforting meal that is healthy and tasty. And the best part – only one pan for washing! Good deal all round especially for those über lazy days.

Cooking basmati rice in the same pan with flavour-laden pieces of chicken and vegetables cannot go wrong. The grains soak up all the delicious spices and juices and you end up with guaranteed mouthfuls of yum.

Easy Chicken & Broccoli Pilaf

  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 4 small boneless, skinless chicken thigh fillets, cut into chunks
  • ½ – 1 tbsp of your favourite curry paste (more if you like it punchy!)
  • 3/4 cup of basmati rice
  • 1 cup of chicken stock (or just enough to barely cover the chicken and rice)
  • 1 small head of broccoli, split and cut into bite-size pieces
  • ½ cup of frozen peas (optional)
  • salt & pepper, to taste
  1. Heat up some oil in a frying pan, cook the onions for about 5 minutes till they’re soft. Add in chicken pieces and curry paste and fry till they have some colour. Add in basmati rice and mix well.
  2. Add in chicken stock, till they just cover the chicken and rice, cover the pan and cook for about 10 minutes. Add in broccoli and peas, cover and cook for another 10 minutes till all the stock is absorbed and the rice is cooked through.
  3. Stir through cooked chicken, rice and vegetables, season to taste and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Chicken, Comfort Food, Home attempts, Recipes, Rice, Noodles, Pasta

Tags

, , ,