I’ve been crazy busy since I’ve been back from Paris so I haven’t had the chance to blog much. Just to keep the drooling going, I thought I’d just quickly pop these in. Two meals that I had in my last Paris trip. The first was our late night dinner on arrival to the St. Germain area where our hotel was. The hotel clerk recommended Le Nemrod to us, which I’m sure was no coincidence that it was also on my ‘to eat’ list. (Thanks again to David Lebovitz)

A busy café in a quiet residential street, Le Nemrod opens and serves till late. We were there at almost 10.30pm, plonked ourselves under a covered terrace and was served by friendly and professional waitstaff. Our first foray into the weekend ‘nom-ings’ started off with dishes like Confit de canard, grilled steak and creme brulee. I’m not quite sure if the food was really, really good or that I was ravenous. Everything tasted yummy. Although recommendations for Le Nemrod always included brunch specialties like their salad or Croque Monsieur.

We often go out of our way to visit recommended restaurants, even if it means having to trek across town. No surprise then that we took the metro to Maison Blanche in search of a Vietnamese favourite – Le Bambou. The area surrounding Place d’Italie can be described as mini Vietnam. We finally got to Le Bambou only to be told that they were closed for the day (yeah ok, we were there at 3.30pm) Boo! So we took our chances and walked into the next nearest viet restaurant – Palais De Asie.

All I really wanted was a steaming bowl of pho which I’m glad to report – was wonderfully big and delicious. I had the ‘house pho’ which consisted of pork cake, liver, kidney, blood cubes, fish cake and bean sprouts. Hubby had the Vietnamese chicken chop with rice. Both were massively yummy.

When in Paris, gotta have some Vietnamese. It’s cheap, it’s good.

Le Nemrod
51 Rue du Cherche-Midi, Paris

Palais D’Asie
93 Avenue Ivry, Paris

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Travelling Tummy

Tags

, ,