September 14, 2010

Wild about mushrooms

Remember I mentioned those wild mushrooms which I carted all the way from a market in Paris? I do. With much fondness…Wild mushrooms are not easy to find in regular shops here in London and if found, they are usually very pricey. We do get the usual white close-capped, chestnuts and oyster mushrooms and I’m rather bored with them for now.

When I saw a stall selling these amazing wild mushrooms at the Bastille Market, I was absolutely keen. There were golden chanterelles, dark and mysterious horn-of-plenty and fat juicy ceps. I knew that all I wanted was to pan fry these babies simply and just enjoy the natural, earthy flavours. And that I did.

Served with a poached egg and salad

I waited in anticipation for my return to London before I went at them. And the wait was well worth it. I just wish I could have easy access to these wonderful mushroom right here…right now.

WILD MUSHROOMS WITH POACHED EGG

A large bunch of wild mushrooms, torn up
1 clove of garlic
1 pinch of dried chilli flakes (optional)
Juice of half a lemon
Sea Salt Flakes & Fresh Ground Black Pepper for seasoning
Olive oil

Heat a generous splash of olive oil in a hot pan, throw in the mushrooms. Leave for a few seconds without stirring then toss the mushrooms through the olive oil. Add garlic, salt, pepper and chilli flakes.

At the start, the mushrooms will produce some liquids. Cook  till the mushroom liquid is reduced and the mushrooms are glossy from being coated in the juices. Squeeze the lemon juice just before serving.

POACHED EGGS – the delia smith way

I found a great method for poaching eggs without creating a stringy mess. Step by step photos are on the delia smith website. Tried and tested! The egg turned out all neat and pretty and the yolk is perfectly runny and creamy…great with mushrooms!

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Veggies & Salads

Tags

,