October 11, 2010

Cinnamon Streusel Cake

I was in cake heaven all weekend.

Several years ago, an ex-colleague of mine back in Australia baked the team a most delicious cake. She called it a Coffee Cake. Very popular in America, this coffee cake is mainly a sponge cake that is topped with a cinnamon struesel. There’s no coffee in it. Yeah. I guess you’re supposed to enjoy it with a cup of joe. I’m no coffee drinker. I just like the struesel. Oh, and the cake too.

Since then, I’ve been wanting to get my hands on a good coffee cake recipe. I finally found it. The Pioneer Woman is one of the many wonderful blogs I follow and I got this recipe from her. It’s sinfully a-m-a-z-i-n-g!!! Just be aware that this recipe makes a very big cake. I was a little scared of how big it was. But guess what? There’s not a crumb of it left. It’s one of the most delicious cakes I’ve ever made. Like…ever.

The struesel’s my favourite part. When I topped the cake batter with the struesel mix. It looked like this – you can’t even see the cake batter anymore. It’s excessive! But I loved it!

But once it’s baked, the cake edges peek out and becomes the yummiest parts of the cake. The edges of the cake’s always the best isn’t it?

There’s a huge amount of butter and sugar in this thing. Just don’t think about it too much. The struesel gets all crunchy and some of it sinks into the cake and it’s all crunchy and cinnamony and super yummy.

It’s my current cake chart topper (if I actually had a Top cake chart). And since it’s such a big cake, best to bake it for a big dinner party or if you have the will power, freeze some of the cake for another day.

I didn’t have a party. I didn’t have the will power. It’s all gone.

CINNAMON STRUESEL CAKE (or otherwise known as Coffee Cake)
adapted from The Pioneer Woman

FOR THE CAKE:

  • 1-½ stick Butter, Softened
  • 2 cups Scant Sugar
  • 3 cups Flour, Sifted
  • 4 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1-¼ cup Whole Milk
  • 3 whole Egg Whites, Beaten Until Stiff

FOR THE TOPPING:

  • 1-½ stick Butter, Softened
  • ¾ cups Flour
  • 1-½ cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons Cinnamon
  • 1-½ cup Pecans, Chopped

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Beat egg whites and set aside.

Cream butter and sugar. Add flour mixture and milk alternately until combined. Don’t overbeat. Fold in beaten egg whites with a rubber spatula. Spread in a well-greased 10 x 14 baking pan. A cake pan with higher sides would be best.

In a separate bowl, combine topping ingredients with a pastry cutter until crumbly. Sprinkle all over the top.

Bake for 40 to 45 minutes.

Join the conversation! 11 Comments

  1. Okay, this is totally going into my bookmarks. With your recommendation, and that beautiful picture, I know I’ve got to try this cake.
    *kisses* HH

    Reply
  2. I saw this on Pioneer Woman’s site and have always wondered about it! You’ve just affirmed my decision to make it because I’m drooling over yours!

    Reply
  3. No will power = more happiness for yourself ;] You’ll share another time, eh?

    Reply
  4. Made the coffee cake this morning, and it was delicious!!! Will be saving the recipe and making again I’m sure. (Subbed walnuts for pecans and halved the recipe). Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  5. Made this stupidly addicting and amazing cake day before yesterday, theres only me and my mum in the house and its basically all gone now…deary me, its so goddarn good! Anyway I blogged about it here http://theprocrastobaker.blogspot.com/2011/07/best-coffee-cake.html and credited your blog too I hope you dont mind :)

    Reply
  6. […] out, you don’t need the extra sugary topping at all. I love streusel coffee cake, trust me. Made a huge one before and ate it all! However I feel that this cake was good on its […]

    Reply
  7. I want to know with all the baking powder and beaten egg whites, why does this cake look so
    flat? I noticed the same thing on Ree’s site but didn’t see anyone question it.

    I’m about to make one similar but with a lot less sugar, butter ( substituting half for apple sauce) and using homemade yogurt and not milk or sour cream

    Reply
    • I never thought the cake was flat as it’s more like a big sheet cake to me. It’s a great recipe as Ree’s recipes mostly are – moist and delish. Your healthier version sounds good too!

      Reply
  8. I made this using 1/2 the total butter. 1 stick in cake and 1/2 stick in topping. I used 1 cup of plain yogurt instead of sour cream and 1 small snack container of plain applesauce.Family loves it

    Reply
  9. Oops, I meant i used yogurt instead of milk. Most similar recipes use sour cream. Anyway, the yogurt worked perfectly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes

Tags

, ,