It’s ridiculous how much I’m addicted to pasta.  Something as simple as garlic, olive oil and chilli mixed through with freshly cooked al dente spaghetti is to me what a bar of chocolate is to most women. Comfort.

I’ve never really cooked rocket before. I’m totally limited to using this pretty (wild rocket leaves are quite pretty isn’t it?) leaf in salads. So this recipe by none other than my favourite Jamie Oliver, intrigued me. Peppery flavours of rocket wilted through hot pasta, chilli, garlic, lemon juice, parmesan. Check, check, check, check and check!

I had some thinly sliced salami in the fridge calling out to me at that time, so even though not a hint of pig is involved in the original recipe, I added them to the dish and it was goooood. Oh salty spicy salami, you complete me.

WILD ROCKET & CHILLI SPAGHETTI
Adapted from www.jamieoliver.com

4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 clove of garlic, peeled and finely sliced
1 dried red chilli, crumbled
4 anchovy fillets in olive oil
3 handfuls of wild rocket
zest and juice of 1 lemon
500g dried spaghetti (okay, I ran out, so I used linguini instead)
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
100g Parmesan cheese, grated
a handful of thin deli salami roughly torn up (my addition)

Heat a wide saucepan or frying pan over a medium heat and add the extra virgin olive oil. Fry salami till slightly crisp, add the garlic, chilli and the anchovy fillets and fry gently for a minute or so. Add 2 handfuls of the wild rocket with the lemon zest and juice and then remove from the heat. The rocket will wilt from the heat – mix it well with the garlic, chilli and anchovies.

Meanwhile, cook the spaghetti in plenty of salted boiling water, according to the packet instructions, and drain. Tip into the saucepan and toss together with the rocket and chilli sauce.

Season well with salt and pepper (although I didn’t use much salt because both the salami and anchovies are salty enough, and I had salt in my pasta cooking water) and serve with some of the reserved fresh rocket and the grated Parmesan on top.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. I’ve never heard of rocket before. You’ve introduced me to something new.

    Reply
  2. Yum! I eat pasta for practically every meal :) My favorite fall pasta dish, though, is this pumpkin and goat cheese lasagna! I made it once and I’ve been hooked ever since!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Rice, Noodles, Pasta

Tags

, ,