Ok. I finally succumbed.

I gave it a shot. Mainly because I wanted a quick dessert and I was way too lazy to do anything that requires a major bake-off.

Google it – you’ll find page after page after page of it. Almost every food blogger I follow has tried it. The recipe even has its own Facebook page! It’s a crazy five-minute-choc-mug-cake world out there!!!

I had to do it in two takes though. The first time I overcooked it (which literally means 3 mins in the microwave). The cake turned out to be a chunk of stretchy chocolate flavoured rubber. Which my very strange hubby thought was delicious and ate it all. I couldn’t bring myself to even finish chewing the first piece. Urgh.

Which then took me to the second take. Cooked it for slightly less than 2 mins and it was just right! And I followed the advice of fellow choc-muggers to use self-raising flour instead of plain – which produced a much fluffier cake. It’s quite an amazing thing really – taking lazy baking to a brand new height.

5-MINUTE CHOCOLATE MUG CAKE
adapted from BBCGoodFood

  • 4 Tbsp. self raising flour
  • 4 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. cocoa
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp. milk
  • 3 Tbsp. oil
  • Small splash of vanilla
  • 3 Tbsp. chocolate chips (optional)
  1. Add dry ingredients to a large mug, mix well with a fork.
  2. Beat egg in a separate bowl, then add in milk, oil and vanilla. Mix well. Add chocolate chips if desired.
  3. Pour wet ingredients into the mug with the dry ingredients.
  4. Put mug into microwave and cook for two minutes on 700 watts. Cake will rise over top of mug. Allow to cool for 2 minutes.
Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. I tried this cake as well. The first time I cooked it for 5 minutes (had only the ingredient part of the recipe – not how long to cook it. Who knew?) I had chocolate ROCK! Tonight I tried it again and cooked it for one minute – it came out like a warm chocolate souffle. But a quarter of it spilled up and over the top of the mug. Looked like an oil spill. NEXT time I will make sure the mug is no more than half full and see what happens.

    Reply
  2. Hi there, I made this cake and it was delicious! I made it in a huge New York mug and I split it into quarters and shared it as it was so big! I cooked it for 8 minutes-as I accidentally had the microwave on defrost move for the first 6! I think a nice chocolate ganache would be lovely on the cake!

    Jazzi x

    Reply
  3. I made this cake tonight, the first time and second time it didn’t taste very nice, the coco was way to overpowering. Third time lucky though but I have to halve the amout of coco, flour and sugar and it ended up tasting really good :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes

Tags

,