I made pancakes for lunch the other day. It was one of those I’ve got nothing in the fridge worth cooking days. There was my ever faithful can of sweet corn in the pantry and a third of a bottle of maple syrup. Sweet corn, maple syrup…sweet corn, maple syrup…how shall I get these two to work together to fill my belly!?

A corn pancake recipe to the rescue. Half portion of corn blended with flour, milk and eggs. A handful of grated cheddar mixed through and there was a good lunch in the making. Savoury and sweet, delicious and just that little bit crazy.

I love spontaneous cooking. And I love maple syrup.

SWEETCORN & CHEDDAR PANCAKES
Makes about 12 pancakes

* 1 cup all-purpose flour
* 4 teaspoons baking powder
* 1 tablespoon sugar
* 1 large can of corn, split into 2 portions, leaving a tbsp aside for garnish
* 3/4 cup whole milk
* 2 eggs
* 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
* 1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled
* large handful of grated mature cheddar

Whisk together flour, baking powder, sugar, and 1 tsp salt in a bowl.

Blend 1/2 cup corn with the milk. Purée until smooth, then strain through a sieve into another medium bowl, discarding solids. Whisk in eggs, oil, and butter.

Add to flour mixture with remaining corn and whisk until just combined. Add in grated cheddar, mix through.

Heat frying pan over medium heat until hot, then lightly oil. Working in batches, pour a ladle of batter per pancake onto griddle and cook until bubbles appear on surface and undersides are golden-brown. Flip and cook until undersides are golden-brown.

Serve with maple syrup and a sprinkle of corn kernels.

Fun food. Enjoy!

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. I tried the pancake recipe on Pioneer Woman…Very strange but very nice!! Didn’t look as nice as yours or hers…How do you get it so nice and round looking…Mine looked like flowers – so many rounded edges! :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes

Tags

,