October 23, 2010

Pork and Chive Gyoza

When I say I have therapeutic ‘me’ time while I’m cooking…making gyozas has got to be one of the top few most therapeutic for me. It’s a little like creating pockets of food origami. All pretty yet edible. Very satisfying on many levels.

Ok, to start things off, I bought a batch of horrible gyoza wrappers. It was frozen and some were totally stuck together after defrosting. Horrible. Ech. I could have made my own gyoza skins but I wasn’t mentally prepared for that…plus I had just paid good money for those wrappers, I wasn’t about to throw in the towel on them. So I persevered…and I’m glad to say I only lost 2 of them in the battle. However, you’ll notice a little  french tip manicure look on them. Those were the frozen bits. Note to self: don’t ever buy frozen wrappers!

For the insides, I used pork mince and chinese chives. I find the oniony taste of the chives go really well with pork, adding a fresher depth of flavour to the dumplings.

To make the dumplings, place a blob of the pork mince in the middle of the wrapper.

Dip a finger into some water and run that along the edges of the wrapper before pleating the wrapper from one side. Grab a little edge of the wrapper, make a little fold by pulling it towards the left. 

The finished gyoza should have a little porky belly sticking out from the top view.

From the back view, you should have a level, flatter side.

Here’s the completed tray of dumplings…all pretty…

To cook the dumplings, place the flat side down in a frying pan with a little bit of oil. Let the bottom of the dumplings brown. Turn the heat down if it gets too brown too quickly. The dumplings char quite easily.

Once the bottoms are a nice golden brown, pour in a centimetre of hot water into the pan…yup, there’ll be lots of steam and sizzling.

Cover the pan. Gosh, I need to get a proper frying pan with a cover. A wok cover will have to do for now.

Once the water is totally evaporated and the dumplings are all nicely steamed. Remove from heat, and start cooking the next batch. Or you could just start eating…

The best accompaniment to gyozas – thinly sliced ginger…

With a mixture (50-50) of light soy sauce and chinese vinegar. My favourite is Chingkiang vinegar which has a fantastic flavour.

Dip the dumplings in the ginger-soy-vinegar mix, chomp chomp…aaahhhh. Food origami never tasted so good.

PORK AND CHIVE DUMPLINGS
Ingredients, makes about 22 dumplings

300g minced pork
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
100g chinese chives, chopped
light soy for seasoning
a light drizzle of sesame oil
white pepper

Join the conversation! 23 Comments

  1. You pleat beautifully! Reminds me of my mother’s precision.
    And I completely agree– frozen wrappers make me want to tear my hair out!

    Reply
  2. Sounds delicious! I’d love to give these gyoza a try. You make it look & sound doable. Thanks :)

    Cheers,
    Mika
    http://mikafry.wordpress.com

    Reply
  3. These look marvelous! I would love to try them…but they look a little too complicated for a busy mom on the go. About how long from start to finish to prep & cook? How about adding the ginger soy to the steaming step to sear in the flavor and serving over white rice?
    Oooh, I’m hungry now!

    Reply
    • Hi Hungry momma, it probably took me about an hour from start to when the first gyoza entered my mouth…you see, it’s something you can prepare, cook and eat in batches…great fun for the whole family I think!

      Reply
  4. Wow. That looks delicious. I’m thinking what vegetarian variant I can make out of those. I could probably fill it with a lot of greens…

    Reply
  5. How are Chinese chives different from regular chives? I LOVE chives – once you start using them (which we do all summer from our garden) you just ask yourself, why don’t I use chives with everything? They are so delicate and versatile. We are big fans of steamed dumplings/buns around here so thanks for this great, simple recipe!

    Reply
    • Hi frazzledfoodie, chinese chives are flatter, bigger versions of the regular chives. Some of the chinese chives come with flowered buds which can also be eaten. In my opinion, they are more herbally and oniony than regular chives which I find to be more delicate. They’re all yummy though! Have fun making these!

      Reply
  6. Love this post! Reminds us of the dumplings at Pam Real Thai in NYC. Chinese chives are, indeed, perfect for these, and you can taste the difference. Will make these. Thanks!

    Reply
  7. I’m putting this recipe on my need to make it list. You did such a beautiful job!

    Reply
  8. just wanted to let you know you were featured on FoodPress.com today – thanks for a great post! (great step-by-step photos!)

    Reply
  9. Those gyozas are perfect, it looks like it was wrapped by a machine. The folds looks like it was calculated evenly. Awesome work!

    Oops I forgot, it looks really yummy as well

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

    Reply
  10. Love the step by step and the pleats – never even considered making these. You make it look very easy. Definitely droolworthy!

    Reply
  11. I just went to the grocery and bought ingredients for gyoza after reading my favorite manga Oishinbo (on ramen and gyoza). Finding your post before I get cooking is so awesome. Your photos are excellent as well–very high drool factor :)

    Reply
  12. Oh man, I could devour about a dozen of these at this exact moment.
    Great pictures!!

    Reply
  13. Great tips. will like to try them next time we meet our group of food friends.
    Thanks

    Reply
  14. […] I checked on this recipe and this one from steamykitchen. The gyoza how-to and photos from droolfactor (found via FoodPress) are really lovely if you want some more inspiration. Especially since my […]

    Reply
  15. […] it sounded so simple that I decided I would use the same filling but cook it gyoza style. I found this recipe on the net  from the blog, Drool Factor, (awesome pictures!) and combined my friends ingredients […]

    Reply
  16. […] it sounded so simple that I decided I would use the same filling but cook it gyoza style. I found this recipe on the net  from the blog, Drool Factor, (awesome pictures!) and combined my friends ingredients […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Home attempts, Pork, Recipes