Once upon a time, a little boy was given some yummy chinese-style chicken glutinous rice and he ate and ate and ate…till he could eat no more. He did not realise that glutinous rice expands quite a lot in the belly…and so he became a quite ill. He swore never to eat glutinous rice again. Little did he know that more than twenty years later, his beloved wife would make him a new, shiny and happy glutinous rice convert again.  Ha!

I personally really enjoy lor mai fun (glutinous rice) – which is usually steamed with marinated chicken, mushroom and chinese sausage. There are variations of Lor Mai Fun, which is usually served as a dim sum dish. Some are steamed in a small bowl and served turned out like a jelly mould, some are steamed in lotus leaves which gives it an additional aroma and some are just mixed though and steamed.

With the lack of small bowls and lotus leaves, I picked option three.

In the steamer...

This is definitely not a last-minute-plonk-stuff-together kinda meal, there’s some planning ahead required. Not something I’m used to doing, but I really, really wanted some Lor Mai Fun, so I had to get organised.

Paid off. Big time. Not only did I enjoy every morsel of my savoury childhood snack, hubby got to re-live his enjoyment too, minus the major tummy-ache. Smiles all round.

STEAMED GLUTINOUS RICE (LOR MAI FUN)

Ingredients A:

4 tbsp of oil
1 tbsp chopped garlic and shallots
500gm glutinous rice, soaked overnight and drained
50 gm dried prawns, soaked
1 tbsp oyster sauce
1 tsp dark soya sauce
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp chicken stock granules
1/4 cup of water
Ingredients B:
1 tbsp oyster sauce
1/2 tsp dark soya sauce
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tsp white pepper
Salt to taste
2 chicken thigh, cut into small pieces
7 mushroom, soaked
2 chinese sausages, cut into thin slices

Method :

1. Mix ingredients B together and marinade overnight.
2. Heat oil in pan. Sautee chopped garlic, shallots and dried prawns till fragrant. Add in the rest of Ingredients A including the rice. Mix thoroughly, then add in the marinated Ingredients B. Stir through, then set aside.
3. Place rice mixture evenly in a shallow metal dish and steam on high heat for 30 minutes before serving.

Join the conversation! 8 Comments

  1. Wow these picture got me drooling. I love glutinous rice but have never tried something like this before. This is truely a must try recipe for me. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. My all time favourite! I learnt my lesson the hard way too =P

    Reply
  3. This is one of the steamed dishes that takes planning and time. I mean, most other dishes done by steaming are easy. I like to eat loh mai fun once in a while – kinda the “craving thing”. Now esp when it is rainy and cold sometimes (and one gets hungry, more easily) – loh mai fun is perfect for the occasion.

    Reply
  4. Actually, it’s called “lor mai fan” not “fun”. “Lor mai fun” is glutinous rice flour.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for brining this useful information to our knowledge. I, in reality enjoyed every little thing that you create. Visit http://www.funaok.com for fun and entertainment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Asian Yums, Chicken, Comfort Food, Recipes, Rice, Noodles, Pasta