October 31, 2010

Grilled pork kebabs

This is a follow up to my Tzatziki post.

I had really delicious grilled meat while in Greece. Succulent hunks of marinated meat on skewers or just as it is off the grill. A-m-a-z-i-n-g!

Unlike the pros, I made do with an oven grill in my one bedroom London flat, with a foil-lined baking tray stacked on another tray to raise it closer to the grill elements and double wooden skewers as my makeshift spit. Innovation, I say!

I bought a stash of herbs from a wonderful shop in Naxos. Spices for tzatziki, spices for fish and one for meat. The spices were in colourful burlap sacks and when you walk in the store, the aromas were simply fantastic. It’s a miracle that I only left with three types of spices, and a few portions of Greek saffron.

I have no idea what’s in the spice mix – the old man at the store didn’t speak English but if they were used by locals to marinate their meat for grilling – I want in.

For this grilling adventure, I used a boneless pork shoulder joint. Cut into even cubes, I marinated the lot with some olive oil and the spice mix and a light seasoning of salt.

As the skewers sat under the hot grill, the fats started melting and cooking the meat – melding the flavours of the spices. I kept watch on the skewers turning them as they caramelised and transformed into beautiful, crispy bronze meaty lollipops. The downside to this was that I was acting as a sponge for all the grilling fumes. I did smell very much like dinner that night. Oh how I wish I have an outdoor bbq in times like this!

What made up for it all…the kebabs – which were delicious, served with just a side of fresh iceberg lettuce, lemon wedges and a whole bowl of tzatziki. Oooooh yes.

Join the conversation! 2 Comments

  1. Your pork kebabs sound wonderful!

    It is Kebab week at Get Grillin’ we would love if you submitted up to any 3 recipes (they don’t have to be grilled) to our link up. This one would be perfect! This week we have a Rosle Grill Utensils giveaway. http://su.pr/1BZGKK

    Reply
  2. wheres the recipe……………..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts