November 8, 2010

Crispy marmite chicken

I think Facebook is detrimental to my waistline.

Thanks to my friends from all over the world who are just as passionate about food as I am, I get regular photo updates on all the local delicacies that I am missing out.

Resulting in major food cravings.

Resulting in my attempts to replicate the dishes that I’m missing out on.

Resulting in lots of cooking, and an expanding waistline.

See the very vicious but delicious cycle?

This marmite chicken dish is one of the many results of this vilicious cycle. I first came across it on a few of my Singaporean friend’s facebook albums, except that it was in the form of marmite pork. Deep fried marinate chunks of pork coated in a glossy, savoury and yeasty marmite sauce.

You either love or hate marmite and I am in the love camp. So seeing this dish in all its technicolour glory, made me drool big time. Why have I never heard of it in my twenty five years in Singapore?? Where has it been all my life? Why can’t I find it here in the UK – land of marmite?

Of course I was delighted to find fellow bloggers who have gone before me and taken the brave marmitey step to recreate this dish. Thanks to a combination of various’ blogger’s recipes, my very own crispy marmite chicken was born.

I didn’t like the idea of deep frying the chicken and so I oven baked the coated chicken pieces till they were nice and crispy before coating them in the sauce. Worked really well, and hubby (who happens to be in the marmite hate camp) devoured every bit of the chicken, marmite sauce and all…

The dark, sticky, yeasty sauce was surprisingly delish with sweet undertones of the wonderful marmite and honey flavours. I have no clue if it’s anything like the ones back in Singapore / Malaysia as I have no personal experience of it to compare it to. But there’s some major love for this version…and until I try the original…I’m happy to remain blissfully ignorant.

CRISPY MARMITE CHICKEN

I used about 700g of chicken thighs and drumsticks

Chicken marinade:
1/2 tbsp marmite
1 tsp light soy
black pepper
sesame oil

Chicken coating:
3 tbsp corn flour
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 tsp chicken stock powder

Marmite sauce:
2 tbsp marmite
2 tbsp hot water
1 tbsp honey
black pepper

1. Marinade the chicken for at least an hour.

2. Mix the flour and stock powder well. Coat the chicken pieces in the beaten egg before rolling lightly with flour mixture. Knock any access flour off. Lay in a single layer on a greased baking sheet. Bake in pre-heated oven 200 deg celcius for about 30 minutes (depending on how large your chicken pieces are) flipping them over halfway through to ensure crispy chicken all round. Check to see chicken is cooked by piercing a thick part and the juices run clear.

3. In a pan, heat through the marmite sauce ingredients. Adjust taste of the sauce at this point – you may want to add more marmite and/or honey. Once it’s well mixed, heated through and bubbling, removed from heat and add in the cooked chicken pieces to coat.

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. I love marmite chicken but have always been lazy to cook it since most recipes require frying – thanks for sharing this baked version :)

    Reply
  2. i just cooked this recipe for my lunch today but i used turkey meat because i happened to have them. sorry to say, it was nothing special. Be careful, adding a little too much marmite will make the sauce bitter, that was my mistake. to stabilize the taste, i add in more honey, sugar, oyster sauce and water. thanks for sharing your Marmite recipe.

    Reply
    • You’re right – it’s such a bland, unappealing recipe. Nothing like what I had in Malaysia. I made this yesterday and found myself desperately adding random spices to fix it :( a complete disappointment

      Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Chicken, Home attempts, Recipes

Tags

,