November 17, 2010

Spanakopita

 

Spinach. Cheese. Pastry.You can’t really go wrong with that combination.Well, unless you don’t like spinach, or cheese…or pastry (what?? who doesn’t like pastry?)

There’s so many possible goodies you can stuff in a pastry dough, give it a funky name and you’ve got yourself some semblance of pie. Obviously I didn’t make this up. Spanakopita is for real. As in, it’s a real dish from Greece…I didn’t make it up although it does sound like I could have. Sounds kinda funny.

Although a very popular snack in Greece, hubby and I only gave it a chance on our last day *at the airport!* I know, we were too involved with our souvlakis to give too much attention to spinach pie. Lame excuse, but there were just too many things to eat, too little time.

So I thought I’d give it a shot and make some at home. In generous portions I might add. I used BAGS of spinach knowing that there will be significant shrinkage after cooking. The both of us ate our quota of spinach for the year in that one pie I think. And it was goooood…

SPANAKOPITA (Greek Spinach Pie)

2 tablespoons olive oi
l1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
About 800g spinach, rinsed and chopped (I used four 200g bags)
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/2 cup ricotta cheese
1 cup crumbled feta cheese
6-8 sheets filo pastry
olive oil for brushing on pastry

Preheat oven to 175 degrees C. Lightly oil a baking dish / pan.

Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Saute onions and garlic until soft and lightly browned. Stir in spinach and parsley, and continue to saute until spinach is wilted. Remove from heat and set aside to cool.

In a medium bowl, mix together eggs, ricotta, and feta. Stir in spinach mixture. Lay 1 sheet of filo pastry in prepared baking dish, and brush lightly with olive oil. Lay another sheet of filo pastry on top, brush with olive oil, and repeat process with one more sheet of filo.

Spread spinach and cheese mixture into pan and fold overhanging pastry over filling. Brush with oil, then layer remaining 3 sheets of pastry, brushing each with oil. Tuck overhanging bits into pan to seal filling.

Bake in preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes, until golden brown. Cut into squares and serve while hot.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. This looks delicious! I’ve always known about spanakopita, but I’ve never tasted it before. I’m sure it’s incredible. I love spinach, so bags and bags of the stuff sounds like a perfect plan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Recipes, Veggies & Salads