Autumn is simply beautiful. All red, orange and yellow…The streets are golden, covered with leaves from the balding trees. Pity the days are so much shorter…and colder. Which makes me hungry and sleepy all the time. If only I could eat warming food and snuggle in my bed all day.

Guess not. So the next best thing on a cold autumn’s day which reflects the hues of nature -butternut squash soup. I know Thanksgiving is just a few days away and there’s been loads and loads of pumpkin recipes out there. Pumpkin’s available here in the UK, but they’re not in great abundance, nor as affordable as some of the other squashes.

I love butternut squash. It’s not only deliciously sweet and nutty, it’s also very versatile. I like them roasted, with pasta / risotto (coming soon in a later post), in salads, stews, cakes and as a soup.

I came across this recipe by Gary Rhodes – an English restaurateur and celebrity chef. It has got to be one of the easiest squash soups I’ve come across…and totally delish!

The added twist to Gary’s soup recipe is the addition of grounded ginger which I thought gave the soup an added level of fragrance and warmth. Orange juice was also added which was a nice touch – lifted the sweetness and gave it a fresh zing of flavour.

This one’s definitely a keeper.

BUTTERNUT SQUASH SOUP
from gary rhodes’ recipe on the goodfoodchannel

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1onion, sliced
  • 1 clovegarlic, crushed
  • 675 g butternut squash, seeds removed and cubed
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 600 ml vegetable stock
  • 100 ml orange juice
  • salt and black pepper

1. Heat the oil in a large saucepan. Add the onions and garlic to the pan and fry until softened, but not coloured.

2. Tip in the butternut squash and add the ginger. Cook for a further 5 minutes, stirring from time to time.

3. Add the stock and orange juice and simmer for about 30 minutes until the squash is tender.

4. Leave the soup to cool slightly, before puréeing with a hand blender until smooth. Season to taste, reheat if necessary and serve.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Recipes, Veggies & Salads

Tags