November 22, 2010

Breakfast of Champions

I get bored with my breakfast options quite quickly. I have a problem finishing a box of cereal or oats or a loaf of bread because I can’t face eating the same thing every morning. As it is, dressing to get to work in the mornings can be a challenge in itself. So breakfast has at least got to be a little more inspiring.

Recently, Pret-A-Manger served up this wonderful Bircher Muesli which I absolutely loved. Unlike the regular bircher muesli, this version has granola mixed in the yogurt instead of raw, soaked oats – which can be rather gloopy after a while.

Taking inspiration from the clever people at Pret, I put together my home version. And I had the same breakfast every single morning – two straight weeks in the row (so far)!

I made a simple almond granola with a touch of honey and cinnamon. Nothing complicated – this is just the base.

Now for my champion breakfast combination, I used low-fat vanilla yogurt, shredded apple, fresh pomegranate, granola and extra almonds for added crunch. The texture and flavours were absolutely refreshing with the little burst of juicy pomegranate and the crunch from the cinnamony granola and almonds.


This winner is highly recommended! I can’t seem to get enough of it…

SIMPLE ALMOND GRANOLA

2 cups rolled oats
60g chopped almonds
25g unsalted butter, melted
2 tbsp muscovado sugar
2 tbsp runny honey
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Add sugar, honey and cinnamon in with the melted butter, stir well. Toss rolled oats and almonds in the mixture and make sure it’s all nicely coated.

Lay oats and almonds in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake in a 180 deg c oven for 20 – 25 minutes or until golden.

Let the oats cool on the baking sheet before storing in airtight container. (If you don’t, it’d go all soggy)

***

P/S: I shred one apple at a time and store it in a container, topped with some orange or apple juice (so it doesn’t oxidise as much and become a disgusting lump of brown apple mush). This saves me from shredding fruit in the morning. All I need to do is construct – so breakfast prep is as easy as pouring milk into the cereal bowl. Easy peasy. Yummy yummy.

Join the conversation! 3 Comments

  1. Mmm, what a perfect breakfast! I’ve never made my own granola–now I definitely need to try.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Sweet Stuff