It’s snowing in London. What a start to Christmas week. There’s chaos at the airports and people and cars are slipping and slidin’ – in short, London just doesn’t cope very well with snowy winters. How embarrassing. You would think after all that global warming talk, UK would at least try to be more prepared for adverse weather. Apparently not.

Moving on to happy Christmas thoughts.

For this year’s edible gifts, I thought I’d make some delicious Brownie Thins. My work colleagues appreciate sweet stuff, and they definitely appreciate chocolate-based sweet stuff. Brownie Thins not only ticked their boxes, it ticked mine too. The recipe was easy to follow and the brownie thins came out beautifully. Thin wafers of light, crisp chocolate cookies with the nutty crunch of pistachios.

I took the recipe from epicurious’ 12 days of Christmas cookies list. What sold me was the description of this cookie being ‘just like the very top layer of a brownie’…oh my, that’s my favourite brownie part! And I was not disappointed. Very chocolately and more-ish except that I only had one cookie because while I was busy packing them into little goody packs, hubby wolfed down the remaining brownie thins. Not a crumb left. Guess I’ll have to make more in the new year.

Everything was home-made, from the cellophane bags, to the biscuits, to the handwritten gift tags. I love Christmas. Christmas time is happy time. Making bags of brownie thins made me happy.

Merry Christmas everyone!

Join the conversation! 4 Comments

  1. Wow how cute are those brownie thins packages! I definitely gonna try this :) it sounds super easy and yummy :)

    Reply
  2. What a great idea, the tops are always the best bit. They look delicious. The snow problems are so silly – it makes me quite embarrassed to be British (especially considering I live in the alps where that amount of snow is a weekly occurrence).

    Reply
  3. Where can I buy some cellophane bags like this?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, , ,