Hey y’all – Merry Christmas – hope there’s been loads of fun and laughter, good food and good friends and family. Hubby and I are in Sweden right now. It’s snowing, and it’s beautiful. I’m aching all over from a session of cross country skiing yesterday, and am currently “recuperating” in a beautiful library in our hotel – Hotel Diplomat Aregarden – loading up on chick flicks while the crazy hubs goes snowboarding.

Aside from the fact that British Airways lost my luggage (I’m hoping I’ll get it later today!!) – I’ve been having a fantastic time. Loving the quietness of this library with soothing piped in music, comfy couches…and the fact that I can sit and blog (thankful for free wifi!!), read a book and watch movies.

It’s been snowing non-stop the whole morning. And a part of me wishes I have an oven or a kitchen right now, so I can cook or bake. I’ve been eating lots of meatballs, potatoes, goulashes, pizzas and burgers. Not my idea of comfort food, but it’s the best I can get in a ski resort town…I’m dreaming of a hot, steaming bowl of vietnamese rice noodles right at this moment. Or maybe a spicy curry laksa. Oh my…snowy food dreams.

But I’m now getting my butt off the couch..and heading out onto the snow laden streets. It’s going to be all white and pretty outside. Time for photos. So I leave you with this caramel butter cookies that I made just before I left for Sweden.

Soft, crumbly butter cookies with a caramel drizzle topping. The caramel starts of crunchy and gives the cookie a nice bite and texture. It soon ‘mellows’ and becomes a slightly softer topping.

BUTTER COOKIES

  • 125g butter, softened
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 200g self-raising flour
  1. Pre heat your oven to 180 deg C and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat the butter, sugar and vanilla extract until very light and creamy.
  3. Proceed to sift the flour into the creamed butter mixture and fold everything together until you have a soft but useable dough.  If you find it’s sticky add some flour a little at a time until you reach the correct consistency.
  4. Using floured hands shape a teaspoonful of dough into a ball and place on a baking tray a few cms apart.
  5. Bake in the oven for 15 mins or until nice and golden.

CARAMEL DRIZZLE

1/2 cup caster sugar
2 tbsp water
75g butter

  1. Add sugar and water in a small saucepan. On medium heat, melt sugar and let it caramelise till it’s a nice golden colour.
  2. Remove from heat and add in butter. Swivel pot around, let the butter mix in well. Drizzle on cooled cookies immediately.

Tip: To clean the pot – the caramel is super sticky and will harden rather quickly – fill pot with water, heat on stove, let caramel dissolve completely, pour away the water and wash the pot with no fuss.

Happy Holidays!!

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

  1. mmmm… little bites of buttery caramel goodness. looks delish.
    btw, fab foodie fotos. thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Recipes, Sweet Bakes

Tags

, , , ,