January 11, 2011

St John’s Madeleines

There’s one piece of bakeware that I own which only serves one purpose. My madeleine tin. Makes beautiful shell shaped madeleines and that’s it. But I love it.

I first fell in love with fresh out of the oven madeleines when I was at St John’s restaurant a while back and I haven’t looked back since. I’ve tried making it at home, it may not look as perfect as that hump-in-the-middle madeleine at the restaurant but it sure tasted good and I was quite satisfied…

That is until I recently came across the actual St. John recipe for their yummy madeleines. Yes! Now we’re talking. This recipe is sweeter and fluffier and very very simple. No almond meal and lemon zest, no fussing about – just straight up and decent. Sorry Heston Blumenthal, your recipe is just a tad too fussy. I’ll have to come back to you another time. Or not – since this recipe is quite the winner.

Alright, perhaps I should give others a chance…maybe try out a few more recipes. Heston’s and New York’s very own Daniel Boulud’s recipe. This shall be my madeleines quest. Oh, and the challenge is for me to obtain that ‘hump’. This was all I got this time round. Baby hump. But I’m pleased to report that humpless madeleines are just as tasty.

ST JOHN MADELEINES
Makes 12

Melt 70g of unsalted butter with a generous tablespoon of runny honey then simmer until the sugars caramelise.

Whisk together a large egg with 55g of caster sugar and a tablespoon of soft brown sugar until a trail can be left on the surface of the mixture. Sift in 70g of self raising flour then fold in along with the butter/honey mixture. Leave in the fridge for a couple of hours.

Grease the Madeleine moulds with butter and flour, tip out any excess then pop a spoonful of the mixture into each one.

Bake at 200 degrees C for about 10 minutes. Best eaten fresh…with endless cups of tea.

Join the conversation! 1 Comment

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Home attempts, Recipes, Sweet Bakes, Sweet Stuff

Tags

, ,