February 6, 2011

Enroute to Miami…

This post was written two days ago while I was on the plane.

***

I’m 9753 metres up in the air, on the way to Miami for the weekend. Just had a beef straganoff with melt in the mouth broccolli and baby carrots (yeurgh!!). Not the most appetising of meals I must say, but still…thank you American Airlines. I look forward to my snack in about six hours. Transatlantic travel. Love it or hate it. I’m not too sure at this point.

I did however look through my archive of food photos, and saw this. Home cooked chicken congee.

And I want some right now, except that hubby is next to me surfing TV channels on the in-flight entertainment unit. One thing my hubby cooks very well and very consistently is smooth, tasty chicken congee (rice porridge), topped with shredded chicken breast, spring onions and crunchy fried onions.

This particular chicken congee is what I call my ultimate, ultimate comfort food. It’s what hubby would cook for me when I’m sick. No, I’m currently very healthy and am very thankful for it. But I would love to slurp a bowl of my hub’s special-made-with-love congee.

There’s no recipe for this. I’ve asked the man to write a guest post for this, but he’s not interested. For now, I shall have to curb my craving for homecooked congee…until I return home from Mexico next week.

For now, I shall just look forward to crab cakes, the Superbowl, tacos and lots of cocktails by the pool. Oh and not to forget – that promised ‘snack’ from AA in five and a half hours. My life is so good.

***

Update: Now in Miami for my second full day. I have been eating non-stop and loving the gorgeous sunshine. Looking forward to more sunshine, Joe’s stone crabs and the superbowl tonight. Off to the store to get superbowl provisions now…and it’s not even 7am!

 

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Uncategorized