February 23, 2011

Playa Del Carmen

I miss the sun. I do. It gets a little too grey for my liking in London. Too much grey…I want bright blue and yellow and gold, some fuschia, a little bit of vermillion. I want colours! See what lack of vitamin D does to me?

I was very happy while in Mexico recently, Playa Del Carmen to be specific. The sun was shining and I was gleaming. “Playa” as it is affectionately referred to by the locals, is just south of spring break fave Cancun and sits along the coast of the Carribean Sea. It used to be a small, sedate fishing village but is now a popular resort city, bustling with sun seekers from all over the world. Like me!

We managed to pry ourselves away from the luxurious environment of the resort  (Grand Velas Riviera Maya) one afternoon, hopped in a cab and went for a wander in the city’s pride and joy – “Fifth Avenue” – a three-mile long shopping and food strip. There’s no similarity to its namesake, the midtown Manhatten’s prestigious shopping district. There were mainly tourist gift shops, restaurants, jewellers and cigar shops. All bright, colourful and cheerful.

There were massage stalls (a back rub anyone?) and fruit stalls displaying cut fruits in plastic cups, art shops full of eclectic wares and paintings.

Piles of balero cups (traditional mexican toy), sombreros, tacky tees…

When it was snack time, there’s always a churros stand. Yum!

Soon enough, it was time to return to the resort. We stopped by the beach and paid a visit to these guys.

Beautiful creatures aren’t they?

I miss you Playa Del Carmen.

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Photoblog

Tags