I’m sure you remember my Mexican trip last month. Of course you do because I couldn’t stop harping about it. (Sorry!) Well, one of the many gifts bestowed on us during this trip was a Mexican cookbook. I know right? How lovely.

I thought I’d try out one of the recipes – Sweet and Spicy Empanadas – with a few adjustments (addition of cayenne pepper – c’mon, you can’t call it spicy without a hit of hot and fiery, and some Worcestershire sauce because I felt it needed the extra flavour and tang). The beef mix turned out totally delicious. I could just eat it on its own…but wrapped in pastry? Divine!

Empanadas are commonly found in the South American street food scene. It’s usually eaten as an appetiser, but can be served as a main with various fillings from cheese to veggies to meat or seafood.

The filling is really easy to prepare and assembling the pastry was very therapeutic (well, for me at least – I had my ‘cave time’) The chopped nuts was an unexpected ingredient and I thought the added crunch was brilliant. I served the empanadas with a side of tangy chunky salsa which balanced out the dish really well.

This one’s a keeper!

Sweet & Spicy Beef Empanadas
Makes 20

50og ground beef
1 onion chopped finely
3 cloves garlic, chopped finely
400g canned chopped tomatoes
1/4 cup sherry
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsbp vinegar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
4 tbsp chopped toasted almonds
1 spring onion, chopped
salt & pepper to season
2 sheets of puff pastry

1. Preheat oven to 200C. In a hot skillet, brown onions and beef in a splash of olive oil. Once done, drain excess fat.

2. Add in sherry and garlic and cook till sherry has evaporated.

3. Add in sugar, vinegar, cinnamon, cumin, cayenne pepper, Worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper and tomatoes. Cook till the tomato sauce is thickened and there is hardly any liquids.

4. Add almonds and spring onions, stir through and set aside to cool.

6. Roll out puff pastry, cut into 5 inch circles. Place 1 or 2 tablespoons of beef onto pastry. Fold in half and press sides to seal. Crimp the sealed sides with a fork.

7. Pierce top of the pastry with fork a few times, then brush with an egg wash (beat 1 egg with a splash of milk). Bake for 20 – 22 minutes till golden brown.

Chunky salsa
1 large beef tomato, cut in chunks
1 avocado, cut in chunks
1/4 red onion
2 tbsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp sugar
salt and pepper
5 basil leaves, sliced into fine strips

Mix all of the ingredients through,  set aside in the refrigerator to chill.

Join the conversation! 20 Comments

  1. just saw these on foodgawker! they look AMAZING! Perfect for my next fiesta!

    Reply
  2. These look awesome. Still haven’t tried my hand at empanadas. Can’t wait to try this.

    Reply
  3. I looove empanadas! These look yummy! :)

    Reply
  4. my husband love empanadas and these look amazing. i am definitely going to try them!

    Reply
  5. These look fantastic. I will definitely be making them!!

    Reply
  6. These look fairly easy to make! I will definitely be trying them soon!

    Reply
  7. How would it taste with out the sherry?

    Reply
    • The sherry or port adds sweetness and flavour but I’m sure you can substitute it with stock and perhaps sweeten it slightly with some sugar or honey. Give it a shot!

      Reply
  8. my husband would go nutzo for these. :)

    Reply
  9. Fabulous Recipe! I found you via food gawker and made this for the family tonight, HUGE HIT and very easy to make! Definitely on the “keeper” list!!

    Reply
  10. […] Seafood Cups: Karen Lackevy | Hot Dogs:  Source: google.com via Beth on Pinterest | Empanadas: droolfactor.wordpress.com via Allie on Pinterest | Pies: juliasroomfordessert.blogspot.com via D on Pinterest | Cake Pops: […]

    Reply
  11. I made these last night and they were a hit in my home! Even my kids loved them, which surprised me since they are such picky eaters. It is always a joy to find something that everyone will eat! I made a meal out them for myself, that was all I wanted!! :)

    Reply
  12. These look really awesome. I just stumbled upon your site, so I have the recipe now and plan to make them this week. We love empanadas and this looks like an easier recipe than the one I have with better ingredients too. I hope mine turn out as pretty as your pictures!

    Reply
  13. I’m going to be making these today. :)

    Reply
  14. […] Sweet & Spicy Beef Empanadas (from drool factor) […]

    Reply
  15. Looks fabulous! Got ready to make shopping list but don’t understand how much ground beef is required. Is it half a pound?

    Reply
  16. […] me of this empanada pastry dough recipe I tried out not too long ago. I preferred it to the last version I tried from a mexican cookbook. This one’s really quick and easy. The pastry is light and crisp and much healthier because I […]

    Reply
  17. why not just use empanada discos from the grocer’s freezer. I buy GOYAs? Don’t you think that’s easier than cutting from sheets of puff pastry?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

About droolfactor

It's all about my gastronomical journeys, and sometimes an inedible thought or two. One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating. ~Luciano Pavarotti and William Wright, Pavarotti, My Own Story This is my personal journey where I devote my attention to eating, cooking, experimenting and taking chances. Anything I come across with a droolfactor worth sharing, it's here. I hope you'll enjoy this journey with me.

Category

Beef, Home attempts, Recipes

Tags

, , ,